We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go!”
Review of Papa Joe's

Papa Joe's
Reserve with OpenTable
Papa Joe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 473 Restaurants in Akron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Portage Trail
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Must go!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Food, atmosphere and service was perfect. There is an art to cooking a good veal dish and Papa Joe's nails it! Took half my Veal Scallopini home and it was as good, if not better, the second time around. The Veal Parmesan, salad and smoked mozzarella appetizer were also delicious and enjoyed by others in our group.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Retiredin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    33
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine Italian Cuisine With A Diverse Menu”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a great restaurant for excellent Italian dishes. Great variety of choices, nice relaxing atmosphere, very nice people. Everything from pasta to filet mignon to fresh fish. Along with the wonderful dining, Papa Joe's also has a superb wine list, along with their own wine store. The Carry-Out store also includes a vast array of choices from their menu for those that just don't feel like cooking on any particular evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeD302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Take out has never been better”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have eaten at Papa Joe's before, but this is the first time we ever got food for take out. We were having a few people coming over right after Christmas and were too exhausted from all the holiday cooking. The lasagna, salad, and Italian bread was just as good for take out as if we had been served by a waiter.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
173 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yummy Italian ”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Went for an anniversary dinner and we were seated promptly without reservations. The staff was very attentive to our needs and the food was excellent with very large portions. I was allowed to swap a salad from the menu for an up charge and was it ever worth it. There is a deli attached where you can get cooked food and desserts to go and it is open every day. $ 50 for two Italian dinners with soup, salad, rolls and drinks. We had a wonderful time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Polkadot72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barberton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good Italian food”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Papa Joes is a traditional italian restaurant in Akron's Merriman Valley area. You get good food - reasonable prices and competent wait staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Papa Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing