We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stinks but staff is awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Akron South
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Akron
Columbus OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel stinks but staff is awesome”
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I use this hotel frequently and over the past 6 months, it has gone to pot. The management quite frankly is loud and obnoxious and a know-it-all. There are two bright spots, Debbie and Denise, who brighten my day and make coming there a real treat.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agent13ColumbusOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Let me first apologize for any and all negative experiences you may have had with our location. I took over as GM in July 2009 so I hope change is good in this case. You will be pleased to know that both employees are still with us. They are an asset to the company and I appreciate all they do. I feel with the quality core staff that we have here we have been able to go back to providing the quality product our customers expect.
Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    78
    52
    30
    26
See reviews for
76
54
55
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, FL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night because I had an early flight out of Canton/Akron airport.

Good points: The hotel looks like it's been renovated recently (new paint, bathtub and fixtures were new), the rate was good, $54 for a basic King room. The hotel was easy to find and it was only about 15 minutes to the airport.

Bad points: The basic King room had no fridge, no coffee maker, no iron, no blow dryer and was small. Hotel has no pool and no breakfast. AC unit was old...but it worked well. Wi-Fi was offered for $10ish per day. The restaurants nearby were all chains...Applebees, Friendlys, etc.

All and all it was nice for the price.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — No blow dryer, no iron, no coffee maker, no breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dashergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for offering your comments. I'm sure they are very helpful to future guest.
You are correct, that the items listed were not offered in the standard room; however they are available on property. Irons and hairdryers are provided upon request at the front desk at no additional charge. We have also upgraded our wifi service and are now able to offer it free of charge. In addition we do have upgraded rooms available with more room, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker for a minimal fee.
Thank you again for the opportunity to view your comments and respond. I hope we will be able to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2008

ok.seemed new and clean.room small but decorated nice,modern.would stay again.reasonable rate.quiet.good location,around restaurants,shops.

  • Liked — location,price,cleanliness
  • Disliked — outside corridors,was very cold,snowing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Our goal is to provide the items and serivce listed in your review. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Akron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

-- Expensive for a red roof
-- Limited cable choice, difficult to use remote
-- No breakfast
-- Good business table, light that allows one not to disturb sleeper
-- Microwave, fridge (without freezer)
-- Nice furniture appointments
-- No facial tissue
-- Tiny night stands
-- No coffee maker

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Leeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Your feedback is very important to us, and thank you for taking time to post yours.
Since your post we have made a few upgrades that might interest you for your next stay. We currently offer an expanded cable package with 2 CNN channels, Fox News, 4 ESPN channels and 2 HBO channels just to name a few and all free of charge. In addition we have added facial tissues and individual cup coffee makers in our Superior King rooms. Other items are always being evaluated for the possibility of adding them to our amenities list.
We strive to provide the best service for the best price in our area. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2006

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn Akron South after coming in on a late flight from California to Akron. This hotel was perfect for that purpose. It has been updated to a fun, modern, sleek style. You can see pictures of the rooms at the Red Roof website. The rooms were clean, but not big, so this is definitely a short term sorta place. The check in was easy and the front desk staff was friendly. We found the best rate by booking online through the hotel's site.

There is a Denny's and Applebee's in the parking lot and a McDonald's just up the street. There's also a White Castle at this exit - which was fun for a Californian to try!

Happy traveling!

  • Liked — Convenience and cleanliness
  • Disliked — No hairdryer
  • Tips/Secrets — Perfect spot for when you fly in late to Akron.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maddyd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know about our place. We appreciate all the comments.
You listed your one dislike would be that we did not have a hairdryer. Currently we are able to provide those by request from the front desk.
We are listening and working on accommodating guest needs when possible.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2006

We stayed the night at this hotel recently. It was in a good location right off the interstate in what appeared to be a relatively safe area. The hotel was in good shape and the rooms were clean. No breakfast was served and no wireless access from what we could see. It was very affordable and a good value. (If you can get this hotel for under 60 bucks we would change it's rating to "above average".)

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EasyRider74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our property. Your feedback and comments are what helps us shape our property for future and repeat guests.
The only comment that I would add is since the review was written we have added free wifi in all rooms. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 11 in Akron
148 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Akron Fairlawn
0.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Akron South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Akron South

Property: Red Roof Inn Akron South
Address: 2939 S Arlington Rd, Akron, OH 44312-4717
Region: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Akron South 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 6 miles north of the Akron Canton Airport, this Red Roof is in the center of it all. We are just 6 miles from the University of Akron and the new Infocision Stadium. We are just 10 miles from Akron Children’s Medical Center, Summa Hospital, and Akron General. Family activities include a visit to the Akron Zoo (7 miles away), Pro Football Hall of Fame (13 miles away), Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens (10 miles away), or the home of the International Soap Box Derby at Derby Downs (10 miles away). Goodyear Corporate Headquarters is just a 15 minute drive and we are within walking distance of various shops and restaurants. All rooms offer free WiFi, flat screen TV, clock radio, free voicemail and extended cable television including HBO. Select rooms offer microwave/refrigerator units. Free coffee and tea is available in the lobby. FREE WI-FI! One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Akron South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Akron South Ohio
Akron Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing