We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COLD WATER INN”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Akron
Reviewed 24 May 2014

what a nightmare. SO scary. No other cars in the parking lot. It was like the ghetto Shining.
Me & my parents have been staying here since the 90's while it was still a Best Western. It was never perfect, and that's ok. It was only a mile from our other families residences.

The room was musty and not clean. There was old coffee still in the coffee pot. There was smears , fingerprints and dirt on the window that overlooks the most disgusting looking half filled pool with green and black water.

TO TOP IT OFF: NO HOT WATER!!!! We ended up leaving.

the saving grace was the lady at the front counter. she didn't blame us. She even gets scared at night when shes alone and locks the doors. nice.

if you need an Akron motel/hotel,, go to the Comfort Inn on Arlington road south. Its five miles from here and a lot nicer. its what we did.

we will NEVER, EVER stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drazzycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was better than a lot of 2 star hotels. Free newspaper, internet on some floors.

The coffee in the room was weak but it was easy to get more at the front desk. Checkin and Checkout very easy.

Bed was comfy and the heater worked fine.

If you want non-smoking, be sure and re-check your room before unpacking... some have had people smoking in them.

Easy to find from the interstate. It's not very busy so be sure and ask them where the safest place is to park your car.

I read the other reviews - most 2 stars don't have the things people were complaining about. They can get you a room fridge for a small fee, if they haven't run out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed there August 24 we choose this hotel because of it's distance from the university of akron as we had to move our child in that weekend. Well my daughter went swimming in the pool and unbeknownst to us but she got a nasty infection in her ear which her physician attributed to being in really dirty pool water. I called the hotel about this and was told that they check their water " once a month" and was surprised that it wasn't clean. The staff were horribly rude as well.

Room Tip: DON'T STAY HERE !!!! The Heath department needs to be called
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here for the Football Hall Of Fame game. Everywhere else was booked. And to top it off, the hotel doubled the rates for the saturday stay.
First impression: The parking lot looked like it was just jack hammered.
Lobby smelled of sewage. Hallway to our room smelled of sewage. Stayed in room 330. It was supposed to be non-smoking. But you could tell it was not. Carpets were stained and some spots were sticky. TV was an old tube style TV. When you turned it on, it said welcome to best western.
Didn't attempt to eat the continental breakfast. There is a Bob Evans 1/4 mile away.
Recommend don't stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhynFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have stayed here a few times but last night will be the very last time. First, most of the reviews are accurate. It is an older motel, not always the cleanest but you get what you pay for. The only thing I will disagree with is the area is not a bad part of town. The motel and the price attract the sketchy people that may give people that impression. We stayed here because is was a convenient location for us when going out with friends on this side of town. Last night around 2:30am the fire alarm started going off. We heard it was some teenagers either smoking or pulled the alarm, understandable. The thing we didn't understand was it did not stop until 4:45am. It took 30 minutes for the fire department to arrive because the front desk girl did not know if she should call. No one came through the hallways to evacuate. I really felt bad for a group that was staying here for a family reunion, there were a lot of children with them. The front desk clerk was the only one there and she had no idea how to reset the alarm and since they were not "hooked in" with the city, the fire dept could not reset it either. Another employee finally showed up but he too could not reset the alarm. As you can imagine there were a lot of angry people. They were demanding refunds, but with a lot of attitude and threats, so they were all getting denied. I walked up with a smile on my face and asked nicely. We got a refund. Don't get me wrong...I wanted to scream at that girl however you catch more flies with honey. I think the safety issue here alone is a reason not to stay. The staff obviously had no idea how to handle this situation, imagine if it would've been a real emergency.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheChandlerGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Don't stay!! Breakfast area must of leaked. They had a fan blowing the musty smelling room to dry. Hot water was soooo hot you couldn't touch the faucet.. Don't let your child stay here! Tub had a clog, so hubby was nice enough to pull out the foot long gunk of hair. Sorry I had him do that. Halls were very smelly.. Front service desk people were more concerned about what was on the computer... NOT friendly at all... You go to tell them about problems and they would say"Oh well".. Side door didn't open when you used your key, they said we know.. Not concerned... Internet didn't work but in some rooms after they tell you the 3rd floor which we were on works the best.. HA No it didn't.. We told them about that and we had a choice to call the internet service to see if there was anything they could do.. Not our problem to call... Again no courtesy to help... So far no bugs came home.... Hope I got ya to stay somewhere else.... Yucky yucky.....I wish we took pictures ... That would of made you go somewhere other then here.....

Room Tip: There is none!!! I wish we took pictures..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wontstayhereagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Non smoking room is a joke. The first room we entered stunk so bad we couldn't enter. The second one was better but still stunk. My hubby had to hurry to be in a wedding. We were left there. The hall ways stink but the elevator is the worst. The swimming had garbage in it. The air conditioning did not work. We slept a few hours then left at 5am. I did not want to see the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mordecai4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
5.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 11 in Akron
181 reviews
6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Akron South
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn Akron-Fairlawn
4.7 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Akron-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2677 Gilchrist Rd, Akron, OH 44305-4439 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Akron
Price Range: £41 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Akron
Akron Best Western
Econo Lodge Akron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing