We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dogs”
Review of Hot Dog Heaven

Hot Dog Heaven
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good dogs”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Amherst dosent have much to offer besides ziggys and cork & stubbys. Been to jin house its good,but others like moosehead are just flat out lame.
We love the dogs keep up the good work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daverodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A favorite spot!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Sometimes we just have to have a hot dog. These are delicious and made to order. Combined with the fresh cut fries waiting for you to shake the vinegar on - it's a lunch or dinner that we look forward to. The prices are good and can be even better when you sign up for their email specials. It's all about timing because it is a small place and seats can be scarce although in the summer there is an area for dining outside. Nice small town restaurant in a nice small town. We've been going there for decades and never get tired of it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Boring basic dogs”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

These are cheap basic dogs, not a gourmet unique dog. Why eat these out when you can make something this cheap and bad at home?? Where is the all beef dog? or true Chicago dog or something really great instead of yet another boring chili dog. The fries are geasy as well. I will not be back. Some locals are a fan I am not!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vdubfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good family atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Been a staple in our families life for the last 20 year. Their chilie cheese dogs with kraut are the only thing crave when uncle sugar sends me "down range"

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The name says it all-”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

What is there not to like about Hot Dog Heaven? Great fries, malt vinegar, hot dogs any way you like them and a cozy space to eat- you just can't duplicate the taste of those dogs and fries at home. Been going there for so many years, and have no complaints.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ontheMove19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Dog Heaven also viewed

 

Been to Hot Dog Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing