We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Inn(Mansfield)
US$67
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Mansfield)
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Ashland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
49
41
26
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
41
26
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakesbreakfast areanice hotelplace to staygood nights sleepbed was comfortablehiecarpethousekeepinghighwaychaindeskwoman
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Three of us in our family stayed here in 2 queen room on the first floor. The queen beds seemed small, more like doubles. While the bed was comfy and the room was neat and clean, we could constantly hear noise from above, either someone was walking constantly in the room above or it was the hallway noise from the second floor. The hotel is trending toward shabby in the carpets and walls and could use a rehab in the near future. The pool looked dirty - it wasn't, it was stained but clean. the water and pool area air was warm and there were plenty of towels. The clerk at check-in was not particularly cheery but the one in the morning at check-out was very nice. I didn't complain about the noise in the room since we were only there one night. I would stay there again but would try to get a room on the highest floor. Breakfast bar was clean and typical of HI Express, including their delicious cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper most floor to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear SallieK,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our front desk and for the noise during your stay. We will look into this. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The review is about the same as my previous. An average hotel. Average breakfast. The only plus is that bed was better this time. If visiting the Ashland area, there aren't many choices unfortunately.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCoordinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear TravelCoordinating,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

When in Ashland, I am always happy to choose this place, as it is very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is well presented with a large selection. Staff is helpful, and the place looks well kept.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Have stayed at this location many times. There isn't much of a choice for hotels in Ashland. So this one, in my opinion, is the best. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet has a great selection and the location is perfect to the main road, stores, and attractions. I have only a couple of cons for the hotel - noise - seems the walls/floors were built very thin. And unless you pay extra for a suite the regular rooms do NOT have refrigerators. In this day and age and as cheap as small refrigerators (and microwaves) are, I would think that there would be one in every room. So be prepared to bring a small cooler if you want to keep drinks cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the TOP FLOOR. There are only 4 floors, but you can hear every sound above you if your not on top. This is a family oriented hotel and lots of kids seem to like to run across the floors above you - sounds like a hurd of buffalo!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Good place to stay when taking in plays at theShakespeare Festival. We have always found HIEX's to be clean, well-cared for, and consistent from hotel to hotel. This one is no exception.

Room Tip: Good place to stay when visiting Shakespeare Festival. This was our 3rd year staying at this hotel. One thing about HIEX's we have used - we have always found them to be clean and consistent from one establishment to the next.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankCarolR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews