We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Italian”
Review of Alessandro's

Alessandro's
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Ashtabula
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner
Ashtabula, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love Italian”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My first to the newly remodeled restaurant. More space (a good thing). Alessandro continues to personally prepare each meal and the food is great.
I wanted spaghetti with meatballs and it was wonderful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    21
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worthy of a return visit ... again, and again”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Geneva is only a 40 minute drive, but with so many dining choices in Lake County, we often forget about our neighbors to the east. However, on a recent week day, we took off work and headed east. Our car seemed on auto pilot as we drove along the Geneva Strip before continuing onto Lake Road. We stopped at this nondescript former ice cream shop that became Alessandro's a number of years ago. Since our first and second visit, we were excited to see that they have expanded their space, so they now accommodate more than 8, four tops. We love making eye contact with the chef as he works his magic from the small kitchen. The calamari is one of our all time favorite dishes. The only disappointment is that Alessandro's is not open year round, and when it is open, it has limited hours. So, take an afternoon off and plan to arrive around 4 PM before the crowds arrive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MentorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I had dinner at Alessandro's after a nice drive through Geneva-on-the-Lake. We'd heard about the restaurant as a favorite for locals and finally tried it and were we glad! We both had the linguini with clams, which was one of the specials. It was super! We had room for dessert and shared the cream bomba - perfection! Anyone who doesn't rate this restaurant as excellent is just sour grapes. Service, atmosphere, everything was top notch! Highly recommend this and worth they one hour drive!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A jewel in a cubic zirconia town .”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Sorry it is not really that great. People kept saying how wonderful it was, well if all the resturants in an area are terrible and one is average, well I guess you could rave about it being good. First it has limited hours . Dinner time is a mad house on Friday/Saturday . Too many people not enough good waitresses . Ours took ten minutes to get our drink order, ten minutes to get our drinks and couldn't keep them filled without being asked . She was also working as the bar tender at some point and and another waitress actually saw we were getting a little mad and jumped in to get drinks to our table. The food was ok . Brushette was so hard along with the table bread that it hurt to chew. The salad is classic Italian , tomato and lettuce, that's all ..so complainers about salads need to chill out that is Italian . I ordered lasagna meat style i seriously thought the were out making the pasta by hand because i was seriously wondering when i was going to see it. After waiting forever, it came out and it was good but not an hour from order to my table good. They have to be on lake time. Its not fine dinning, they want to be but it feels cheap and the atmosphere and ambience was bland, it didn't feel like an Italian joint. The locals who ate there complained at the table next to ours about how vacationers were making it so busy, well sorry locals but tourism is what keeps your town alive it certainly is not your culinary establishments.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tartutic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“spaghetti sauce is like being at Grandma's”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

do not be fooled by the exterior. the chef is amazing and the food incredible. there is usually a wait on the weekends, as it doesn't have that many tables. They do sell wine as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank susuplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alessandro's also viewed

 

Been to Alessandro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing