We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was clean and staff very helpful. Rooms could...”
Review of Knights Inn Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Athens
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 9 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn
1  Thank Paige B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Knights Inn Athens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

The plaque in the lobby states proudly that Kennedy was at the then-Motel Athens in 1959; and I think one couldn't be blamed for thinking that nothing's changed since then. Indeed, the owners told me that certain things - like upgrading the wiring - couldn't be done because the property's simply too old.

If you're used to modern, consistent, look-and-feel lodging, like Hampton Inn or Courtyard Marriott, the Knights Inn will be a big surprise. My room on the second floor was up a creaky flight of blue carpeted stairs, halfway down a narrow hallway that made me think of a scene from The Shining. The alarm clock on the adjoining room was beeping ominously, the occupants forgot to turn it off before heading out. There were occupants in a road-facing first floor room with the windows and doors wide open, revealing a lot of junk food, paper plates, and plastic spoons. Unsettling first impressions.

But the owners are cheerful and responsive, the room was clean, the shower hot and my next door neighbors turned the alarm off. Also half the price of the Hampton. But no wi-fi and no workout room - no frills, and not what you're used to in the 2000s. As long as you're ready for the difference it's fine. The next night, though, I moved to the Hampton.

Room Tip: Second floor room or room in the back of the property, not the rooms facing the road, that might be...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

You are right that Our property is an older prototype but we are proud of providing comfortable/clean stay to our customers.We are in process of renovating rooms in small chunks on every year. We finished renovation in back building in year 2013. This year, We also replaced flat screen TV in front rooms.We do have wi-fi available in through out our property and it works fine unless there is problem during cable company outage.We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We just needed a roof over our heads for a night and the Knight's Inn fit that description. There is nothing special about it. The front desk clerk was efficient, but not really friendly.
Our room had a bare plaster patch on the wall and cheap looking laminate flooring that gave the room a cheap feel.
Our room was fairly clean...there was a line of dirt along the tub because of a metal piece that didn't allow the mop to get all the way to the tub and dirt in the corners. The cheap laminate floor was separating in spots that also allowed dirt to accumulate. Nothing that a little extra effort on the part of housekeeping couldn't fix.
The front desk clerk was efficient, not overly friendly or welcoming.
The beds were pretty hard but i loved the firmness of the pillow I had. I wish I had one like that at home! Very comfy.
The hotel location was great. Plenty of nearby shopping and restaurants plus the local movie theater is across the street.
Overall, it's fine if you're on a tight budget or just looking for a clean, dry place to spend a night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpeedDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patelaku20, Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for leaving us with such kind words. Our property is an older prototype but we are proud of providing comfortable stay to our customers.We are in process of renovating rooms in small chunks on every year. We finished renovation in back building in year 2013. We are extremely happy to hear that you like pillow and quality of bed/mattress during your stay.We hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
patelaku20, Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn
1  Thank foto_johnyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
patelaku20, Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is the second time I was forced to stay here, as all other hotels were booked for Dads weekend. I thought the first time was bad but this was worse. The beds are of the cheapest quality. Dirty bathroom(hairs on the floor), very small. I was awakened at 0500 by the individual next to me as his cell phone went off, alarm and television(the walls are that thin). He then proceeded to have a conversation with another individual outside of my room. $125.00 a night. I could have slept on my sons apartment floor and gotten better rest and given him the $125.00. Would sleep in my car before sleeping there again. Athens is a small town, book ahead and not this place.

Room Tip: Does not rate one star
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 234Mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patelaku20, Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to fill out a review on your last stay. Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations . We also appreciate your feedback and my team will discuss your comments to provide the best service we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The non-smoking room had a bit of a smoke smell... I slept with the window in the bathroom open which aired the room out. It was a nice place... very clean...at a great price. Breakfast was very simple.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

On behalf of management, we extend our sincerest apologies for all inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We understand that problems like the one you experienced with smoking smell handled immediately. When any issues arise in your room, we encourage our guest to notify the front desk so we can take proper measures to rectify the problem. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed cleanliness at our property. We hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
502 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
3.0 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Athens

Address: 997 E State St, Athens, OH 45701-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £46 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knights Inn AthensTake advantage of affordable rates and essential amenities when you stay at our Knights Inn Athens hotel near Ohio University. Wake up to free continental breakfast, complete with fresh-baked waffles, when you stay at our Athens, Ohio, hotel, or prepare food using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. Email friends and family during your stay using our free high-speed Internet access. Our hotel is conveniently located off Route 33, and truck parking is available in our ample lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Knights Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Athens Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing