We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good!”
Review of Lam's Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lam's Garden
Ranked #61 of 117 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Visited based on previous reviews and I ca say we weren't disappointed. We had a family meal with soup (egg drop was great), spring roll( good, not greasy), chicken chow mien, sweet/sour chicken, and white rice. It all was very pleasing.
One thing I really liked was that none of the dishes were very salty. Sometimes it can be that way, but not here. It's a solid value for the dollar paid.

Helpful?
Thank mspons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Ever”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I eat out a lot especially chinese and this is by far the best restaurant for chinese food. The staff is so friendly, always smiling, the food is hot, delicious and fresh not to mention the portions are great! The waiter kept checking on us, refilling our drinks and wss so nice. I highly give this chinese restaurant my best vote and favorite.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingJim76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nicer than the average Chinese Restaurant!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

When in Athens, there are at least 9 Chinese restaurants and I've been to several. This one, so far is the best.

Great service, delicious food and a quiet upscale atmosphere. We did not leave hungry by any stretch! No idea why they had catsup at each table though?

Tried the Po Po platter and an appetizer and all selections on it were great.

I had the Kung Pao chicken and it was very good. My OU Freshman son ate every bite of his Chicken and Broccoli too. The pot of tea was blazing hot and very good.

Quiz: How many words are there used in the naming of Chinese Restaurants in the US? We came up with only about 17: Garden, Fortune, Palace, Dragon, Gate, Golden, Grand, Panda, King, Wok, Jade, Royal, Cottage, Sun, Dynasty, New and Lucky.
What have we missed ? ; )

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelsonville, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Best Chinese In Athens"”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

A great resaurant for a sit down experiance and or take out. Ive eaten at Lams for the past 20 year and have never had a bad time. I live outside of athens and if I'm going to drive 15 miles into town for Chinese, Lams is it. I would recomend this restaurant to anyone before some of the other options in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArmySpcRet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Plains, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best in athens”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

this is truly a 5-star chinese experience. excellent, quality food at a great price. it can not be beat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lam's Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lam's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing