We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Good food”
Review of China Panda

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Panda
Ranked #94 of 118 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Japanese
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Rutland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Value, Good food”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

By far the best lunch bargain in town. Nice chinese lunch for under five dollars. Not much on atmosphere but if you want an inexpensive lunch it beats fast food by a long shot. Family run so you may be seated by a five year old. Priceless!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RutlandTreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

China Panda is REALLY good. Family owned and run with pride, they have something for everyone. They have typical American Chinese food, yes, and good sushi too, but also another menu for Chinese students and those in the know. That's where some of the more interesting choices are: great seafood, hot pots, all kinds of greens, etc. Try the crispy eggplant with tofu, the bok choy with vinegar sauce, rice noodles, and the ginger-scallion fish!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
248 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not bad, but I may have been expecting more due to other reviews”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Service was fine, food, to my wife and I, was somewhat bland. Definitely plenty of it, though, which college students will likely find appealing.
The hot and sour soup was unusually savory but had no spiciness at all. Mongolian pork could have been Mongolian chicken for all I could tell.
Again, it was decent, just not something that jumped out at me or that I would return to if back in Athens.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food, scattered service...”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

This place has very good Chinese and Japanese food, no question. But the service is scattered and spotty, to be charitable. And please, it's not a great idea for the owners to let their kid run around the restaurant. Tacky.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huasobruto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, delicious food, and the best sushi in the area”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My wife and I have made China Panda our go-to date night restaurant. The Chinese and Japanese menus are excellent, and their bento-box lunches are an incredible deal. Not to mention that it is the only place in town to get good, fresh sushi. And how. The "sushi boat" is a great option for groups who all want sushi and to split a bill; a large, wooden boat is brought to the table stacked and filled with sushi for all to share. The staff is excellent and very friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CBPoindexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to China Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing