We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese food in Athens, Ohio!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Panda

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Panda
Ranked #94 of 117 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
athens, ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Athens, Ohio!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Unlike one of the reviewers, my husband and I found the owner's young daughter just charming and were delighted to be seated by her. (Special tip!) The food is tasty, service is quick and take-out is also very fast. Great Japanese selection as well. Often crowded with Chinese students, surely a good sign....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adrienneAthens_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Value, Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

By far the best lunch bargain in town. Nice chinese lunch for under five dollars. Not much on atmosphere but if you want an inexpensive lunch it beats fast food by a long shot. Family run so you may be seated by a five year old. Priceless!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RutlandTreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

China Panda is REALLY good. Family owned and run with pride, they have something for everyone. They have typical American Chinese food, yes, and good sushi too, but also another menu for Chinese students and those in the know. That's where some of the more interesting choices are: great seafood, hot pots, all kinds of greens, etc. Try the crispy eggplant with tofu, the bok choy with vinegar sauce, rice noodles, and the ginger-scallion fish!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
249 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not bad, but I may have been expecting more due to other reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Service was fine, food, to my wife and I, was somewhat bland. Definitely plenty of it, though, which college students will likely find appealing.
The hot and sour soup was unusually savory but had no spiciness at all. Mongolian pork could have been Mongolian chicken for all I could tell.
Again, it was decent, just not something that jumped out at me or that I would return to if back in Athens.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
181 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good food, scattered service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

This place has very good Chinese and Japanese food, no question. But the service is scattered and spotty, to be charitable. And please, it's not a great idea for the owners to let their kid run around the restaurant. Tacky.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Huasobruto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to China Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing