We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible room, horrible staff, horrible food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mario's International Spa and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mario's International Spa and Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aurora
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible room, horrible staff, horrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We arrived at night, and we could not find an entrance to a parking lot as it is not marked. The holiday decorations in the lobby/restaurant were very pretty. Cheese plate in room was 8 ritz crackers, and hunks of cheese of unknown variety. Champagne was in white wine glasses... Carpet in room had ripples all over where it had stretched and never repaired. Facility rundown and dirty. Our dinner time was 8:30, we were seated at 9:30, and did not receive our entrees until 11:30. They ran out of everything in the kitchen, or so we were told. Breakfast was nasty. The bacon was deep fried! Carton of orange juice was sitting in ice bin at bar. Hello, no sanitation there! I could go on forever, but one has the clues. Knew not to purchase spa services as they are twice the price anywhere else in town, but not even half the quality others offer. Run away from Marios.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TerryMedina_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    10
    13
    22
See reviews for
9
24
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I got a massage and she got an eyebrow wax. The eyebrow wax was great but everything from that point on was disappointing. The robe they gave me was very worn and was not big and comfy. Trying to keep a small robe, that feels like a Brillo pad because it so worn, is hard to keep closed and sit properly at the same time. The flip flops were hard too get on because they were too small. The spa facility is very worn down with chipped paint and tattered furniture. The massage was good. I had a pleasant older gentleman who gave a good massage. Now for our room. The room was well done with big comfortable beds and great cotton bedding. The rooms were a nice size and well taken care of. The restaurant had a great ambience but terrible service. The first thing the waitress said is that we must be there on a package in a sarcastic tone. It took sometime for her to complete our order because every time she started to take it the phone rang and she had to take the call for carry out orders. It took sometime to get the food, which was adequate, but why, we were one of only three tables filled. No one was there. The breakfast served in our room was fresh, generous, timely and good. Overall the service was poor in the restaurant. The service in the spa was good but the facility and supplies left much to be desired. The room was great. Know what you are getting into before you decide to go. Too high of expectations can lead to great disapointment.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kittycows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinsburg, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

My wife and i stayed at mario's for a sweetest day/evening treat. Big waste of money. Whirlpool in grotto was not working which forced us to have to use the steam room which was unbearably hot. Dinner was to be have a $25 dining credit per person and server wanted to argue that it was per table until we showed her the email confirming our per person credit. Took her and someone else almost 30 minutes to correct the bill. Never received our champagne and strawberries, when we asked the next morning at check out the clerk told us we should have called to ask for them to be brought to our room. Continental breakfast was a few slices of melon and a mini muffin. I tried to contact the owner.manager today and was told to email her. No response from her. Don't waste your money here!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tburgmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aurora hotels

Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I only visited the spa for a facial and massage. The services were fine, but the facilities are old, dirty, and very outdated. I feel bad for the employees that have to work there and too bad their company won't pay to update the facilities. So many nicer spas in the area, including Walden just a few miles away. I don't know how they intend to stay open and compete.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blondeinwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Another wonderful stay at Mario's International Spay and Hotel. This time we just laid back and relaxed. No spa treatments just lounging around and had a wonderful meal at the Cabin. If atmosphere is what your looking for this is the place to be but if you are looking for a current up to date Hilton this is not. The bathrooms and the white robs to me are the best part of the stay. It is a little more expensive but if you watch you can catch their specials. My husband and I are parents of 4 and don't get much alone time. We have to choose wisely when we get to get away. Mario's is far enough away but close enough to go home if needed.

Room Tip: Last minute stays usually no openings in the Spa. Must be comfortable asking questions as sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgray27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLEVELAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This place has really gone down. I was there this past Labor Day weekend. We had a 4:30 appt for a massage, waited an hour before they called us in. The room, the massage was in was so HOT!!. There was hardly any circulation in the room. I mention it to the guy who was giving me my massage and he stated he didn't have control over the room temperature. The dinner was just OK! There was hardly anything healthly on the menu. I ended up getting chicken parmasean (FRIED). The rooms are so dark in the hotel, and this is the killer we only had maybe 8 channels on the TV (NO CABLE OR FLAT Screen TV). You can purhase a Flat Screen for Cheap these days. Anoher killer, The Breakfast!!!. I expected sausage, eggs and etc. I walked in the resturaunt the next morning and they had maybe 6 muffins and a small saucer with sliced oranges, pinapples and a few berries. I was just done. I asked the lady at the desk was this a contential breakfast and she said Yes. This is not a contential breakast. This is the last time I will visit any Marios'. The owner is not putting any money into this place. Close this Place. Don't waste your Money Here. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AARONAVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Be careful when purchasing a gift card as they do expire! I bought a massage for my husband a few years ago, when he never used it, I finally decided to use it for a pedicure, but it was Expired. Usually these type of things are good forever. After reading some of the reviews, I don't think I missed anything.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Curly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
22.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
#12 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Aurora Inn Hotel & Event Center
21.6 mi away
Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.5 mi away
Bertram Inn and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Streetsboro/Cleveland Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mario's International Spa and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mario's International Spa and Hotel

Property: Mario's International Spa and Hotel
Address: 35 E Garfield Rd, Routes 82 and 306, Aurora, OH 44202-8801
Region: United States > Ohio > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mario's International Spa and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mario's Spa is a very quaint historical building from the 1840's when, at that time was a stage coach stop for travelers heading West. The guest quarters of the private 14 room hotel have Victorian styled decor & provide gracious accommodations where comfort and hospitality are our primary concern. Guest rooms are luxuriously embellished, each offering personal in-room whirlpool baths complete with every convenient amenity. The Hotel Suite with fireplace will provide your sanctuary for the ultimate repose. For a spa retreat, the business traveler, groups, weddings, or a tranquil getaway, the Spa Hotel is a haven for those seeking solitude and has entertained many celebrities. Spa Hotel dining offers the rustic elegance of our Cabin Restaurant and Courtyard. The restaurant serves an array of fresh, hearth baked pizzas to astounding homemade pasta selections and grilled to perfection steak, chops and seafood. The Cabin cuisine specializes in quality with all menu items prepared to specification on the premises.AURORA: The word in its original Greek context refers to "a new beginning." With the completion of the refurbishment of the original Aurora Spa, we are entering into an age of "a new beginning." Mario's Aurora Spa is our Grande Spa. The Aurora Spa was Mario's first spa, opened 35 years ago, making Mario's one of the early creators of day spas.Our historic building has warmth and charm that can't be found in modern environments. You can partake of your services in the warm glow of one of our 7 fireplaces and unwind in our Grotto - our newly renovated all stone whirlpool and Finnish sauna. Enjoy a scrumptious and healthy meal in our Furno - our private spa restaurant where you can dine in the comfort of your robe and slippers!Personalized attention to our guests, a team of professional technicians and therapists and our renowned commitment to provide exceptional spa experiences has earned Mario's Spas the award of #1 day spa nationally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mario's International Spa and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mario`s International Hotel Aurora
Marios International Hotel
Marios International Spa Aurora
Mario's International Spa And Hotel Aurora, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing