We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bates Motel...gross”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mario's International Spa and Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aurora
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bates Motel...gross”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Paid $600 for 1 night for dinner/breakfast and couples massages. The massages were fine. The dinner took 2hrs and the menu was limited. The room was gross and we felt like we were staying in a run down motel. The pictures speak 1,000 words. We will not be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Irish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    10
    14
    22
See reviews for
9
24
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

What started off as a great idea [Gift card from wife] went down hill very fast. I called the Medina location and schedualed a massage. I sat down and completed the paperwork and had a glass of water, I had a funny feeling something was not right. The "Therapist" and I'll use this term loosely seemed out of her element. She took my paperwork and lead me to the massage room, as she gave me directions on what to do she became a little distracted? When she came back into the room and began my massage I new what the problem was. She didn't know how to perform a massage? Her technique sucked! She was real jerky when she tried things and she had the nerve to tell me that she had been doing this for awhile? Peggy or Patty whatever your name was, you do not know how to perform massage!! Whatever you had to eat the night before, I could smell it on your breath. You were also short of breath, which also was another indicator that you were not a massage therapist. The massage was "Terrible" When i went to get my coat, guess what was on the wall next to the coat rack????? The license for all the employees. My guess was correct, the older out of shape woman was not even a "Therapist" she was a cosmetologist! Her and the manager saw me looking at the wall and when I turned around they both just put their heads down and turned red. I've told all my friends and associates about this and they could not believe that a high end place like Mario's would ever do something like that! I will NOT go back to Mario's ever.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank dtarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aurora hotels

Malvern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Very simply said, we loved our stay at Mario's. Very sad to read all the negative reviews. Spa services were wonderful. Spa is being renovated, so it will be even better next time. Technicians were sweet, accommodating, and professional. The hotel is charming...yes, old & therefore walls are thin...play some music in your room or turn on fan or TV, problem solved! Hotel was clean, beds were comfortable, and hot tub in bathroom was fantastic...again, bring music! Cabin restaurant was, as always, perfection. Wonderful selection of gourmet food plus basic choices for the teenagers in our group. Service was very adequate since the restaurant was packed. Special shout out to Ben, the sous chef. He was darling, welcoming, and so helpful. We went with great expectations & left completely satisfied.

Room Tip: Bring music, turn on TV, run air conditioning or fan...thin wall problem, solved!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nan440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We arrived at night, and we could not find an entrance to a parking lot as it is not marked. The holiday decorations in the lobby/restaurant were very pretty. Cheese plate in room was 8 ritz crackers, and hunks of cheese of unknown variety. Champagne was in white wine glasses... Carpet in room had ripples all over where it had stretched and never repaired. Facility rundown and dirty. Our dinner time was 8:30, we were seated at 9:30, and did not receive our entrees until 11:30. They ran out of everything in the kitchen, or so we were told. Breakfast was nasty. The bacon was deep fried! Carton of orange juice was sitting in ice bin at bar. Hello, no sanitation there! I could go on forever, but one has the clues. Knew not to purchase spa services as they are twice the price anywhere else in town, but not even half the quality others offer. Run away from Marios.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TerryMedina_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I got a massage and she got an eyebrow wax. The eyebrow wax was great but everything from that point on was disappointing. The robe they gave me was very worn and was not big and comfy. Trying to keep a small robe, that feels like a Brillo pad because it so worn, is hard to keep closed and sit properly at the same time. The flip flops were hard too get on because they were too small. The spa facility is very worn down with chipped paint and tattered furniture. The massage was good. I had a pleasant older gentleman who gave a good massage. Now for our room. The room was well done with big comfortable beds and great cotton bedding. The rooms were a nice size and well taken care of. The restaurant had a great ambience but terrible service. The first thing the waitress said is that we must be there on a package in a sarcastic tone. It took sometime for her to complete our order because every time she started to take it the phone rang and she had to take the call for carry out orders. It took sometime to get the food, which was adequate, but why, we were one of only three tables filled. No one was there. The breakfast served in our room was fresh, generous, timely and good. Overall the service was poor in the restaurant. The service in the spa was good but the facility and supplies left much to be desired. The room was great. Know what you are getting into before you decide to go. Too high of expectations can lead to great disapointment.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kittycows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinsburg, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

My wife and i stayed at mario's for a sweetest day/evening treat. Big waste of money. Whirlpool in grotto was not working which forced us to have to use the steam room which was unbearably hot. Dinner was to be have a $25 dining credit per person and server wanted to argue that it was per table until we showed her the email confirming our per person credit. Took her and someone else almost 30 minutes to correct the bill. Never received our champagne and strawberries, when we asked the next morning at check out the clerk told us we should have called to ask for them to be brought to our room. Continental breakfast was a few slices of melon and a mini muffin. I tried to contact the owner.manager today and was told to email her. No response from her. Don't waste your money here!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tburgmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I only visited the spa for a facial and massage. The services were fine, but the facilities are old, dirty, and very outdated. I feel bad for the employees that have to work there and too bad their company won't pay to update the facilities. So many nicer spas in the area, including Walden just a few miles away. I don't know how they intend to stay open and compete.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blondeinwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
0.0 mi away
The Aurora Inn Hotel & Event Center
21.7 mi away
Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
22.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
#15 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bertram Inn and Conference Center
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland/Twinsburg
4.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Streetsboro/Cleveland Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mario's International Spa and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mario's International Spa and Hotel

Property: Mario's International Spa and Hotel
Address: 35 E Garfield Rd, Routes 82 and 306, Aurora, OH 44202-8801
Region: United States > Ohio > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mario's International Spa and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mario's Spa is a very quaint historical building from the 1840's when, at that time was a stage coach stop for travelers heading West. The guest quarters of the private 14 room hotel have Victorian styled decor & provide gracious accommodations where comfort and hospitality are our primary concern. Guest rooms are luxuriously embellished, each offering personal in-room whirlpool baths complete with every convenient amenity. The Hotel Suite with fireplace will provide your sanctuary for the ultimate repose. For a spa retreat, the business traveler, groups, weddings, or a tranquil getaway, the Spa Hotel is a haven for those seeking solitude and has entertained many celebrities. Spa Hotel dining offers the rustic elegance of our Cabin Restaurant and Courtyard. The restaurant serves an array of fresh, hearth baked pizzas to astounding homemade pasta selections and grilled to perfection steak, chops and seafood. The Cabin cuisine specializes in quality with all menu items prepared to specification on the premises.AURORA: The word in its original Greek context refers to "a new beginning." With the completion of the refurbishment of the original Aurora Spa, we are entering into an age of "a new beginning." Mario's Aurora Spa is our Grande Spa. The Aurora Spa was Mario's first spa, opened 35 years ago, making Mario's one of the early creators of day spas.Our historic building has warmth and charm that can't be found in modern environments. You can partake of your services in the warm glow of one of our 7 fireplaces and unwind in our Grotto - our newly renovated all stone whirlpool and Finnish sauna. Enjoy a scrumptious and healthy meal in our Furno - our private spa restaurant where you can dine in the comfort of your robe and slippers!Personalized attention to our guests, a team of professional technicians and therapists and our renowned commitment to provide exceptional spa experiences has earned Mario's Spas the award of #1 day spa nationally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Mario's International Spa and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mario`s International Hotel Aurora
Marios International Hotel
Marios International Spa Aurora
Mario's International Spa And Hotel Aurora, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing