We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up To Hampton Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Austinburg
Certificate of Excellence
ROCHESTER
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Up To Hampton Standards”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Visited with a group. To connect to the internet was ridiculously difficult. We use hotel internet all the time and never have a problem. Also the new "international" clock radios were so difficult to just set the time, that neither the front desk nor the maid could set them. Also, other hotels that we stay at always send an e-mail with an easy to access survey asking about our stay. For $150 per night, I expected better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOROTHY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bconaway, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ashtabula, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We do hope the next time you are in area you will consider staying at our hotel and experience our true Hamptonality.

Thank you,
Brandy Conaway
brandy.conaway@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    112
    45
    19
    8
See reviews for
160
127
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanahan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel, and the staff are absolutely superb. The hotel is very clean, breakfast is awesome, and it's also quiet - thanks for a job well done. The pool is clean, there are plenty of towels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca,NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I feel mixed about this hotel. The bed was very uncomfortable - old or cheap I don't know, but it sure was saggy. Breakfast was standard Hampton Inn continental - except the "fresh fruit" appeared to be canned fruit, but, hey - it was Ohio...The pool was nice - clean, a good temperature and had nice deck furniture around it. The room had an odd odor when we first arrived and I determined it to be the shower curtain (musty smell) so I got a new one from the front desk (late at night) and changed it - seemed to help. There didn't seem to be a fan in the bathroom. Otherwise the room seemed clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorge_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The room I stay in had a real musty smell. The breakfast- bagel toppers- should never be served. Most of the rooms I have stayed in have been decent, but this one was terrible. The front desk ladies are friendly, but sometimes forget to make those delicious cookies.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, NY, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed one night after touring some covered bridges and the Underground Railroad Museum...room was clean and quiet, beds are comfortable. Asked for and received extra coffee packets for the morning. Staff is extraordinarily helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nice, clean hotel. Easy access off freeway. Good breakfast. Not much in the immediate area of the hotel in the way of hotels etc., but not too far to drive to find places. Staff was friendly, but did not have much information on area places to eat. It was a good rate for the hotel, so I didn't mind driving a bit to restaurants. (and by a bit, I don't mean all that far!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelScout56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel was fantastic. Hampton hotels have the most comfortable beds and the most tidy rooms! The staff was very polite. The breakfast was also nice. Much better than your typical bagels and danishes at your cheaper hotels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austinburg
0.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
20.8 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ashtabula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ashtabula

Property: Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Address: 2900 G.H. Drive, Austinburg, OH 44010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Austinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Austinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ashtabula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Ashtabula is located on the shores of beautiful Lake Erie. Our hotel has 71 guestrooms, accessible rooms, pool, business center and fitness center to accommodate all of your traveling needs. Our hotel also proudly offers free hot breakfast, fresh Hampton Bed and free high speed internet in every room and the 100% Hampton Guarantee on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Ashtabula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ashtabula Hotel Austinburg
Hampton Inn Austinburg
Austinburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing