We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected better”
Review of Bubba's-Q

Bubba's-Q
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Avon
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Avon, O
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We heard pros and cons but decided to determine for ourselves.
Although the staff was pleasant the evening was more 'waiting' than anything.
The food was average and the spice on the ribs was nice, however, the ribs were dry and nothing to write home about. The higher prices were not reflected in meal.

We really 'wanted' this to be a better experience, but, we cannot recommend and have no plans to return. ...wish it lived up to the hype...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    45
    36
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all!!!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We are planning our son's graduation party. I was considering ordering from Bubba's - so I figured we should try it first.... First time = Last time.
Seriously overpriced for what you get!!!
Half slab at 17.99$ or full slap at 27.99$ for ribs.... I suddenly missed Tony Romas!
As we walked in, I mentioned we were looking to cater a party of over 100 guests. At no time did someone come to ask or suggest anything (I was given a catering menu - which by the way is the same prices are ordering at the restaurant????). Service was ordinary (well below Jakes on the Lake or BWW's....). The table was sticky - the place felt dirty.
The food was good but nothing extraordinary. At that price level, I will go back to The Strip in Avon on any given day! What a disappointing experience! (and no - we will not be catering our event with Bubba's!!!!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UnVentdeFolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I love the food at this place it is always so good. The sweet potato fries were very good. There was only one thing missing from the menu this time and that was the collard greens. Wish they would add them back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italianmama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALINE
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

First time here. Wasn't busy, and seated pretty fast. But after that, the service was slow. The server seemed to be overwhelmed with too many to serve at once. She was nice, and was good at what she did, but... Anyway, the food was top-notch! I split a full rack of baby backs and an order of brisket between 2 people. Both offerings were great, especially the ribs! The bark from the smoked ribs were some of the best I've ever had. Very tender and fall-off the bone delicious!
The others in our group loved the Pulled Pork sandwich and Pulled Chicken too. The sides were good, but nothing to get excited about.
Overall, I would definitely go back for the BBQ, and hope the service gets better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiganuncledoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth your time or money”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I hate to write a bad review of this restaurant because when they first opened, they were top notch. The owner was always on-site, the food was delicious, and the service was fantastic. Fast forward about 6 years and nothing is the same. The owner has basically passed the reins to his children, he is never present anymore, and the restaurant seems like more of a hang out place for the mostly teenage staff, who are always changing. It's nearly impossible to get things you need such as drink refills, extra plates or take out containers, or even your bill. The food is not consistent. Sometimes your meal is delicious but more often it's mediocre at best. They also offer catering but good luck getting a quote. I attempted to get in touch with them last summer to cater a family reunion; I tried calling and emailing multiple times and never received a reply. Their prices are too high for a less than stellar dining experience. If you're really in the mood for barbecue, take the extra time to drive to The Pit (Vermilion, OH) or Moosehead (Amherst, OH).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bubba's-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing