We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, just not enough for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bubba's-Q

Bubba's-Q
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Avon
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plain City, Ohio
Level Contributor
231 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food, just not enough for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

When we were recently in Avon we saw the sign for Bubba's and decided to give it a try. We love bbq. We ordered pulled pork sandwiches which comes with one side. When we go to our local bbq joint we just get the sandwiches which fills us up. However, when we were served our food at Bubba's the first thing we noticed was the very small portion of meat that was on the bun, probably less than half what we get at our local place. It had a very good taste, but just not enough of it. Also, if you like getting a choice of sauces, you won't find it here. One sauce fits all. Again, it was very tasty. The cole slaw was also very good and an average-sized portion. After being served our food, our server never came back to check on us until after she realized we were done and waiting for our bill. Good thing we didn't need anything else. Needless to say, we left hungry and overall disappointed. It is too bad, the story behind the place & the memorabilia on the walls was very interesting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JStarkey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    45
    35
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, O
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We heard pros and cons but decided to determine for ourselves.
Although the staff was pleasant the evening was more 'waiting' than anything.
The food was average and the spice on the ribs was nice, however, the ribs were dry and nothing to write home about. The higher prices were not reflected in meal.

We really 'wanted' this to be a better experience, but, we cannot recommend and have no plans to return. ...wish it lived up to the hype...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We are planning our son's graduation party. I was considering ordering from Bubba's - so I figured we should try it first.... First time = Last time.
Seriously overpriced for what you get!!!
Half slab at 17.99$ or full slap at 27.99$ for ribs.... I suddenly missed Tony Romas!
As we walked in, I mentioned we were looking to cater a party of over 100 guests. At no time did someone come to ask or suggest anything (I was given a catering menu - which by the way is the same prices are ordering at the restaurant????). Service was ordinary (well below Jakes on the Lake or BWW's....). The table was sticky - the place felt dirty.
The food was good but nothing extraordinary. At that price level, I will go back to The Strip in Avon on any given day! What a disappointing experience! (and no - we will not be catering our event with Bubba's!!!!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UnVentdeFolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I love the food at this place it is always so good. The sweet potato fries were very good. There was only one thing missing from the menu this time and that was the collard greens. Wish they would add them back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italianmama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALINE
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

First time here. Wasn't busy, and seated pretty fast. But after that, the service was slow. The server seemed to be overwhelmed with too many to serve at once. She was nice, and was good at what she did, but... Anyway, the food was top-notch! I split a full rack of baby backs and an order of brisket between 2 people. Both offerings were great, especially the ribs! The bark from the smoked ribs were some of the best I've ever had. Very tender and fall-off the bone delicious!
The others in our group loved the Pulled Pork sandwich and Pulled Chicken too. The sides were good, but nothing to get excited about.
Overall, I would definitely go back for the BBQ, and hope the service gets better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiganuncledoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bubba's-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing