We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Legacy Lodge' at Lake Murray”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Murray Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ardmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Murray Resort
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Ardmore
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“'Legacy Lodge' at Lake Murray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My mother Honeymooned at Lake Murray Lodge 52 years ago and things haven't changed much since then. Talk about a blast from the past! Get to this lodge before it's demolished because Oklahoma is finally building a new Lake Murray Lodge!!!

I have nothing but good things to say about our stay at Lake Murray Lodge, July 2013. Yes the rooms are OLD, really old, but a blast from the past, if you like that stuff. The bathrooms are like walking into the past, 50 yrs ago. BRING YOUR OWN SOAP AND SHAMPOO, hair dryer and pretty much anything else you might need because you won't get it here. (I've seen worse while fishing~ I've stayed in a single-wide with 6 men). The rooms are clean and air conditioned and the sheets are clean, so that's a plus, but NO CEILING FAN, no fridge, no microwave and no in-room safe and the internet is pretty spotty~bring your IPad. Also, bring your ice chest and your room fan and some Febreze if ya have it. There's one ice maker down the hall (soda & snacks, too) and they sell bags of ice. Once you settle in and accept that it's all old then you start to appreciate the history and legacy of the lodge.

The beds are new-ish and comfy but the curtains are like tissue paper, so either bring a sleeping mask or thumb tacks and a black sheet to cover your window from the morning sun . Sunrise on the dock is a great place to be at 6:30 am, then breakfast in the restaurant followed by a trip to Tucker Tower and later relaxing in the Great Room with the giant fish tank, fireplace and TV at the end of the day makes for a great weekend.
In each room is a 3-ring binder with the history of the park, lake and lodge~it's a good read. Be sure and have the weekend buffets, play pool in the game room, enjoy the mini golf, swim in the pool and do the sunset cruise.
Every employee that we encountered at Lake Murray Lodge was gracious, helpful and made our stay so much fun that we can't wait to come back!
Vickie supervises the night desk~ she's THE BEST! Be sure and go talk to Vickie when you're there. All the staff, from the front desk & restaurant to housekeeping & recreation & security & groundskeeping is super friendly and happy to help make the stay at the Lodge a great and memorable experience.
I highly recommend staying at Lake Murray Lodge before it's gone~ you'll be happy that you did!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NTX2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have utilized most of Lake Murray's overnight accommodations over the decades including sleeping on the ground in tents, summer camp church group settings, family cabins, and as of this year the lodge is where we decided to land for the holiday. Here is my assessment. As I walked in the door it was like a step back in time. The modifications have to have been minimal over the years. That's just the way it is for now. Very clean but aged. The staff..... Well I can't say enough about how accommodating and nice they all were on any one of the shifts. We eat mostly vegetarian so I feared the worst since we came ready to survive off what the lodge dining has to offer. They came through for us! The veggie burger was awesome, salads were basic but good, cereals and yogurt parfait was good, but then there is the buffet in all it's delicious fattening glory available also for about $7. Their staff in dining were great people and worked to make our visits pleasant every meal.
They have wine by the bottle or glass. (Order the bottle)you will be glad you did! The desserts are yummy. Unfortunately, they removed one of the best(chocolate pudding brownie) instead of carrot cake! Enough about foods. They are good.
The rooms are old. They just are. They are clean and well kept and have tv, coffee and Internet in them. Not a lot of room but what do you expect for $65 a night. The view of the grounds and lake was nice. I will go back and probably stay in the larger rooms next time. Now for the best news ! A new lodge facility is being built soon I hear. They say some of this old lodge may be kept and used as a museum or something. That would be great.
Go to Lake Murray. It's a great place about to get better.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the lake mad it is a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband, 5 month old, and I stayed in one of the refurbished cabins (don't know if they are all refurbished), and we loved it. I have stayed in the cabins prior to refurbished, and no, they were not luxury, but they were better than sleeping in a tent! Lake Murray is not a luxury resort, so if you are looking to stay somewhere top notch, this place is not for you. Lake Murray is for people who are coming to cook out, fish, hike, and enjoy nature. It's not for people who are coming and expecting a 4 or 5 star place!

Couple of notes to hopefully help anyone make the most of their stay. Our cottage had a separate bedroom with twin beds, a large living room, a bathroom, and a separate kitchen with a table that set 4. The kitchen has a toaster, microwave, refrigerator, and oven. Oh, and a coffee maker with coffee packets. Otherwise, there is NOTHING ELSE in the kitchen. You need to bring paper towels, your own plates and utensils, food--anything you might need kitchen wise.

They do provide linens--towels, sheets, etc--and shampoo and soap. Outside every cabin there is a concrete picnic table and a grill and fire pit. There was also a fireplace and you can purchase wood and a starter kit at the lodge. 10 pieces for $5.50. You can also gather wood, but it's worth the $5.50 in my opinion to save myself some work!

There is mini golf, jet ski rentals, a swimming pool, and a snow cone place. These are only open in summer. Tucker Tower is in the process of being redone, and is worth a visit. There is one restaurant in the lodge--The Apple Bin--and it is actually quite good. There is also a bar in the lodge, but it was never open when we were there.

We visit Lake Murray once a year. It's a short trip from Oklahoma City, and we really enjoy everything it has to offer. However, we are people who like to tent camp, so the cabins, complete with air conditioning and plumbing feel like a luxury to us!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank gerialexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubrey, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Felt like staying at a scary motel in the bad part of town. On the outside, cabins were cute. But inside, the carpet was gross, the bathrooms dirty, and the the kitchen was nothing to write home about. Thank goodness we brought our own linens!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lizgirl840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ardmore hotels

Salado, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed during the week in one of the newly renovated cabins. It was great! We were very surprised by the quality of the cabin and the staff service. The pool was clean and refreshing, and if it had not been so hot (110 degrees every day), we would have explored a little more. We settled on long naps and cable TV for many of our daylight hours due to the extreme heat, explored the park in the early morning and late evenings. We are definitely going back. This would be a great place for family reunions.

Room Tip: ask for a remodeled cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our weekend family reunion has been held there for over 10 years, because it can accomadate such a large group. The staff has always been very helpful and friendly, which is a big plus for such a large crowd. The cabins are old and the bathrooms are in need of repair. The park has attempted to update some, but they could still use more. The quality of the resort is very high, and because of this we shall continue to hold this family tradition here. The one qualm I have is the fact that the cabins are a bit overpriced, however this is easily overshadowed by the quality of this resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivia089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We spent our 4th of July at Lake Murray. We rented one of the state park cabins. Yes, they're old but they have a "yesteryear" charm to them that I like. It was also very convenient to get to our boat from the cabin (as opposed to staying at a hotel in Ardmore). Speaking of the lake...as a DFW Texan, I have numerous choices of lakes but Murray is great. It's never as crowded as the big ones around the Metroplex. It's an easy drive and the water quality is close to PK clear. It's very family friendly so don't expect a Lake Lewisville party scene. It's also very close to Windstar Casino/Resort if you're looking for some gambling action or golf.

Room Tip: Cabin rentals are hard to find for holiday weekends...book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank cubmanruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ardmore hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Admore
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ardmore
3.0 mi away
Lexington Inn - Ardmore
Lexington Inn - Ardmore
#2 of 23 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ardmore I-35
Holiday Inn Ardmore I-35
#7 of 23 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ardmore
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ardmore Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Murray Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Murray Resort

Property: Lake Murray Resort
Address: Lake Murray Resort, Ardmore, OK 73401
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Ardmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 143
Also Known As:
Lake Murray Hotel Ardmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing