We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tolovana Inn(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayside Inn(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ocean Lodge(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie Inn(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfsand Resort(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Court(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Haystack Rock(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
189
54
23
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
54
23
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsb bwine hourcannon beachtuscan spatower roomeach morningoregon coastbed and breakfastview of the oceansocial houropen showerfood served at breakfastlovely weekendhug pointsoaking tubliving room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 280 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We stayed for one night as we travelled down the coast - nice rooms very big , clean - nice towels and bathrobe - fridge noisy in our room - Ginger - wih a view of the ocean which was was miminal even though the website said there was a good view - and the 101 highway was between us and the sea - my son had a nice view and outside area in his room and could hear the sea - if only there was no noise of traffic when the window was open.
Inn keepers very friendly and pleasant but the breakfast was a little disappointing - we were presented with fried potatoes, tomato and egg covered in a sauce that looked liked marie rose sauce - not to the taste of all of us - perhaps a choice of dressing or not at least would be helpful. Biscuits were delicious.
Also the noise from the kitchen can carry upstairs especially at 6.30 in the morning. Book early and get a property nearer the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Irelandeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeroPdx, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2008

Thank you for your feedback.

Our towels and linen are brand new and made of the finest Egyptian cotton available. We receive many compliments on them as well as comments on the cleanliness of our property. Cynthia and the staff have very high standards.

That fridge gave out the next day and must have been fighting for it's life the night you stayed with us. We gave it a proper burial the next day and have since adopted a brand new one that seems to be "fitting right in".

Our Oregon Coast Highway, a designated "National Scenic Byway" and one of only twenty-seven "All American Roads" in the U.S. denoting being scenic enough to be a tourist destination unto itself, runs alongside the ocean the entire coastline. Because of it's parallel alignment to the Pacific coastal shoreline it allows our visitors to arrive at this coastal doorstep with great ease an convenience. The entire coastal community considers it to be much more of an asset than a liability.

"May the luck of the Irish
Lead to happiest heights
And the highway you travel
Be lined with green lights."

Thanks for making us a part of your American Adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We booked the Arch Cape House for the July 4th holiday weekend. At the time of booking, we were told that a 3 day minimum was required (as were all the other hotels in the area) for this weekend. We wanted to stay only 2 days but agreed to the 3 day minimum with the provision that they would try to book the 3rd day if possible. Upon checking out after the 2nd day, we were told that they had not been unable to rent the 3rd day and we would have to incur the full 3 day price. Not a problem, as we knew upfront. When we returned home, Arch Cape phoned us to let us know that they were able to rent the room and would thus charge us for only the 2 days!
Somehow, I would imagine that not all hoteliers would be this honest. We were so impressed with their responsibility and would highly recommend this terrific bed and breakfast to others visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mgcVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeroPdx, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2008

Glad you enjoyed the service and that things worked out so well for you in the end!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

My wife and I booked St. Bernard's Arch Cape House for our 12th anniversary. I only read the reviews on TripAdvisor AFTER our stay, thankfully... because we had a wonderful visit!

St. Bernard's is under new ownership - Cynthia & Stephen, which I believe is the big difference between our experience and previous visitors!

We were welcomed in and treated like family. We stayed in the "Provence" room, which was very clean, quiet, spacious and had a garden patio which we sat out and basked in the sun for awhile.

We did have tea (wine was available) and really enjoyed talking with Stephen & Cynthia, but there was never pressure to socialize. One other couple staying there we met at a delicious 3-course breakfast, and really enjoyed the relaxed setting and open feeling. Plenty of coffee, orange juice, and other goodies to make your breakfast complete!

If I had any gripe at all, the bed was a little softer than I like. However, I still slept great, probably from being comfortable, warm, and relaxed (from a nice Jacuzzi tub bath).

We found it to be very clean throughout. Cynthia is a self-proclaimed "neat freak" and it shows.

Close to Cannon beach, with its shopping and restaurants, but a quiet and out of the way retreat to come "home" too.

Highly recommended to come and give it a try! We felt like privileged guests.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dnatiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeroPdx, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2008

Thank you for the kind words and the wonderful recommendation. Our goal is to make everyone feel like they have just "come home". And it's true, Cynthia's standards for cleanliness are very high. Thanks for noticing the change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews