We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“U get what U pay for!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flagship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flagship Inn
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“U get what U pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was a really cheap buy. $70 a night for the two of us. Well, it was pretty funky. Mainly my problem was with the smell in the room. It looked clean on the surface but just smelled old and funky. The bathroom looked clean. The sheets were clean and the bed comfortable. I think it was the carpet. It was a maroon color, hard to tell if it was dirty but there were marks on it. And the bedspread had stains which I pointed out to the desk person and we got a clean bedspread. The only staff we met was the receptionist in the office and she was a very nice young woman, professional and helpful. We didn't eat any food but did get coffee and tea both mornings. To be frank I would have changed to a different hotel but this was nonrefundable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    102
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
72
66
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have now become a regular customer of this motel because my son is attending Southern Oregon University right across the street. All of the staff are very accommodating and treat you like family. The rooms are very clean and their larger ones are very spacious. Comes with a nice continental breakfast each day and is in a beautiful setting and neighborhood area. The pillow top mattresses are very, very comfortable and they give you plenty of good quality, soft pillows.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger of the two rooms. It may be called the deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Another stop on our West Coast road trip. Was unsure at first... but more than proved us wrong. We checked and were helped by a nice young lady who was in training. The owner was assisting and was very helpful, patient. We stayed at the end of the main level. Room was very clean linens were fresh. They clearly are constantly making upgrades in the rooms. Only thing left was an update to the furniture and carpet (both were clean and well kept though). We didn't part take in the breakfast, ate at a restaurant I was really wanting to try instead.

Room Tip: I always prefer a room on a second floor or higher due to light from vehicles or the possibility of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelierontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is an old motel that, despite attempts to improve the décor, really shows its age. It didn’t help that we were greeted by a young man who could not have cared less about customer service. He basically tossed us a room key (which did not work) without a thank you. When we asked if a room on the top floor was available, he just said ‘no,’ without checking. We’d made reservations several weeks in advance and checked in mid-afternoon. The parking lot had only a few cars, so his response seemed a bit suspicious, but obviously we weren’t going to get anywhere with him.

The first thing we noticed about our room (#204) was a moldy, sour smell, which forced us to prop the door open as much as possible during our stay. Although the room appeared to be fairly clean, the furniture looked as though it had been around since the sixties. Everything, including the recently re-painted walls, was scratched, dented and chipped.

The bathroom was tiny with a small sink surrounded by a pealing Formica countertop. Next to the sink was a rather dirty looking, non-working hair dryer (replaced at our request with one only slightly better).

Thank goodness the beds were comfortable and included several decent pillows. The first two nights we slept well, noticing little noise. But our third and final night we heard what sounded like elephants dancing on the floor above us until well after midnight.

I should note that other staff we encountered seemed friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonanza6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
big island hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Went to visit my daughter who's attending Southern Oregon University, Excellent staff great location right across SOU. Rooms where big and very clean. Amenities are great didn't need to ask front desk for anything, we stayed for a week and they always replace our toiletries and coffee every morning. They also have continental breakfast which was okay if you wanted a light breakfast. We always miss breakfast because we are just enjoying the room. Planning on visiting soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewishawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madras, OR
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Others have written about this place. I advise guests to request a room in the back to avoid traffic noise. Light sleepers should request a room on the 3rd floor in the front bldg, 2nd in the back. We experience a person [seemingly] running laps in the room above us - elephants are probably quieter. I'd skip the free breakfast and enjoy any of the fabulous b'fast places in Ashland!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Location: About 1.5 mi to downtown. You can get a cab, but we find it to be a pleasant and easy walk.

Room: Comfy bed; good pillows; shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion & hairdryer provided; flat screen TV; AC; coffee cups have to-go lids.

New addition: Keurig individual coffee maker in each room, with 3 coffee pods and 1 tea pod provided (more available at front desk for $.75/ea). Optionally, you can skip the pod and just run hot water through if you've brought your own tea.

Staff: Just wonderful! This was our second year staying here and the guy at the front desk actually remembered me. Both years they've been able to get our room ready a little early and seem happy to do so.

Room service: Works a little differently than most places. They provide a pamphlet with the menus for a number of nearby restaurants that deliver. There's a flat $6 delivery charge. It works out to be much cheaper than normal hotel room service and with a greater variety. We haven't used the service so I can't speak to the quality of the food.

Recommendation: Book early. We book a month or two out when there's plenty of availability. The host said they were completely booked when I checked in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
1.4 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.4 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagship Inn

Property: Flagship Inn
Address: 1193 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2240 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flagship Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Flagship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagship Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing