We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great”

Oregon Shakespeare Festival
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You don't need to head to England to experience the genius of a Shakespearean play. Much closer to home is the Oregon Shakespeare Festival located in Ashland, Oregon. Every year at the end of October you can enjoy on average over ten of Shakespeare's plays performed in both classic and newly imagined style. Separate tickets are needed for each show which is held at one of the event campus's two indoor or one outdoor spaces.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Loved going to everything here. I saw a show here a few years back and I wish I could go again. I love the creative takes they take on the plays.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank amethystloucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    134
    37
    21
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding production”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Theater was beautiful and acting and production was exceptional. Will definitely make a point of planning another Shakespeare trip in the future. My children loved it as well. It is pricey, but worth t for a special occassion.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura12332283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing quality theater!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just returned from Ashland and saw three absolutely stunning theater pieces: Shakespeare's "The Tempest," "Comedy of Errors," and Sondheim's "Into the Woods." All three were exquisitely acted and directed. Creativity abounded. Broadway quality theater an hour (by plane) away from Seattle!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montesano, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Season”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

OSF presents a wide variety of dramatic works, including great Shakespeare and many brand new plays. The highlight for me this year was The Great Society, a new play about the Presidency of LBJ. Well written and the acting was even better. Low light was Family Album, nothing worked very well for me in this play about music and art.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1GrumpyOldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great theatre you can always rely upon”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

"The Great Society" smashing!
"Into the Woods" brilliant & beautifully Sung (LOVED the witch!).
"Family Album" fascinating new work which will go far from it's beginnings here in Ashland.
A great trio of fine acting, beautifully directed & stunningly designed (Especially the "Woods" costumes! CONGRATS all around.
Anything you see here is almost always worth your time, effort and dollar.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oregon Shakespeare Festival also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing