We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B and amazing breakfasts!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morical House Garden Inn
Ranked #19 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B and amazing breakfasts!”
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The breakfasts are amazing-- we loved the surprise of them each day! And resident deer on the property are charming. The grounds are inviting-- we spent an hour or two each day reading and relaxing in the sun. It's about a five minute drive into the downtown/ theatre area, so not quite as convenient as some other B&Bs but we thought it well worth it. Yes, it has a big city sort of appeal, in some ways (you should be a bit of a food snob to stay here) but it had all the rural peace and quiet you could want and lots of privacy. The hostess is friendly and smart and funny. They supply you with all kinds of info on walks and restaurants. We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Poemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My husband and I stopped for 1 night in Ashland during a roadtrip through Oregon and Northern California...we loved the Morical Inn (by far our favorite B&B / Inn that we stayed at); our only regret was not staying longer.

The Morical is on a fairly busy / commercial stretch of Main St, but is very quiet / secluded once you enter. The furnishings of the house are clean and modern (welcome respite from the lace and wallpaper you often see in B&Bs) and our room, while cozy, was very well laid out. Great sheets, spotless bathroom, good soaps / shampoos, etc. The grounds are beautiful to wander around in and there is a lovely deck in the back to lounge on.

Breakfast is clearly a highlight - all the food was organic and there were three courses. (Our consisted of berries / yogurt; then pancakes with sausage, then chocolate and sorbet). It was a little odd having 'dessert' at breakfast, but delicious nonetheless.

Overall, would really recommend it to someone looking for an intimate inn that's modern in spirit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SF_intrepidwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Morical House. Great gardens, rooms, bfast, and privacy. I would definitely book early though as they fill up ridiculously quick!

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank betty234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Morical House. Alicia is a warm and welcoming hostess, and she does not hover like the hosts at other B&B's. The house itself is beautifully furnished - elegant and comfortable - and wonderfully devoid of the Laura Ashley floral fabrics which seem to dominate the B&B scene. Our room was in one of the out buildings, and it was cozy, sumptuous, and quiet. Breakfasts were terrific - tasty and unusual, with good, strong coffee and fresh juice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank formerexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Morical House is a somewhat upscale B&B in the very lovely hamlet of Ashland. Whether or not you'll like it depends on what kind of person you are. If you're, say, a very culturally-sophisticated big-city person, MH may be for you. But if you're just a regular Joe who wants to kick back, relax, and be yourself, you may not feel completely at home here, despite its significant good points.

When you walk in the door, you're struck by the decor- the owner has tremendous taste, and leans towards Asian influences. You're almost kind of afraid to touch anything, actually. There's a nice breakfast area, complete with linen tablecloths and a big window with a nice view of the mountains.

And- I've got to say- Morical House serves arguably the BEST breakfast in town, each and every morning. The portion sizes are a bit too small (again, that 'sophisticated, big-city' sensibility), but quality-wise, it's like eating-in at a fine restaurant.

Of course, there's no menu- you're eating whatever Alicia (the owner) has decided is the meal du jour- but she chooses well, and my girlfriend and I were never disappointed. This is one of Morical's strongest pluses.

There's also a nice tea and coffee bar, gratis (though, note to Alicia: Tazo's good, but Numi's better).

Outside, there's a grassy area and some small gardens leading to a (well-weathered) deck with that same nice view of the surrounding hills. Indoors, you'll find the rooms to be minimally, but elegantly furnished, with some rooms having especially nice touches such as a clawfoot tub. No TVs that I noticed, though... again, not completely 'regular Joe-friendly'.

The location is decent, but not great... you'll find yourself just out of walking range of downtown, unless you're a fairly spirited hiker. Walking along the main drag is a bit of a drag too, as there's lots of traffic.

Which brings us to Alicia, the owner/innkeeper. Alicia is... highly professional, let's say. She's incredibly efficient, but definitely gives off that big-city hotel concierge vibe.

This may or may not be what you want, depending on who you are. I myself felt a little judged chilling out in jeans and a T-shirt or sweats, lol- maybe it's the decor. Or maybe it was that Alicia was always perfectly-dressed and made-up. If you're looking for a down-home innkeeper who's going to shoot the breeze with you and tell jokes and such, this is not that place. That said, Alicia's certainly friendly enough- again, in that very professional way.

The prices are okay, if you choose one of the smaller rooms. The larger rooms command quite a price premium though, and are probably not quite worth the cost difference.

Morical House overall has much to recommend it, and I'd stay there again, but I did leave wishing that the place could just... RELAX a little, y'know?

The Morical experience seems designed to impress you, and that's great, but the 'sophisticate' vibe seems a bit out of place in homey Ashland. And hey, on vacation, the last thing you should be worrying about is having to impress anyone. YMMV.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WriterByTheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I have stayed in other Ashland B and B's as well as several area hotels. In all honesty, I chose Morical because I booked late this year and many of the places I have stayed in the past were already full. However, it was a wonderful experience and I would definitely stay there again. It is an elegant, restful, beautifully appointed and tastefully decorated inn set in a lovely garden setting. I absolutely appreciated the fact that the innkeeper was friendly and professional but not overbearingly chatty and inquisitive as many other B and B innkeepers seem to feel they must be. This is not your traditional twee flowered chintz/iron bedstead Victorian B and B, which was a refreshing change. It is a brisk walk to the festival, and a brief drive--parking did not seem to be a problem at all. It's a great place for a quiet getaway and the breakfasts are spectacular.

However, if you are the kind of person who needs excitement, nightlife activities within walking distance, a pool/gym, or someone to come and bring you an extra towel/blanket/or snack at all hours, this place is not for you. The staff do not hover (a plus in my book) and you will have to figure things out for yourself after they go home (fine with me). As it turns out, there were plenty of linens in the room, plentiful self-serve tea and coffee and I had no need to call upon anyone. Overall this was a superb experience and I would recommend this highly to anyone who is looking for a more sophisticated inn experience.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank SFTraveler070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

We stayed 4 nights at the Morical while seeing 4 shows at the Shakespeare festival. Alicia, the owner, was gracious and incredibly helpful. Breafkast was superb; three courses includes a breafkast dessert! They were very creative and delicious. We really liked the decor and the gardens, and the rooms upstairs in the main house were lovely, comfortable, and clean. We really had no complaints. Yes, it is a highway walk down to the festival but we didn't mind that at all. Parking in Ashland was no problem, and even walking home at 11:30 pm from the theater festival was fine for us. We loved having the tea available all evening; my only suggestion (and it's because I'm a baker) would be for a homemake baked treat rather than wrapped up biscotti which are obviously purchased, but I doubt too many people return hungry after theater and dinner!

  • Liked — Breakfast, graciousness of owner
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank happy12054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arden Forest Inn
Arden Forest Inn
#16 of 31 in Ashland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#12 of 31 in Ashland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.0 mi away
2nd Street Cottages, Act 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morical House Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morical House Garden Inn

Property: Morical House Garden Inn
Address: 668 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1710
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880'€™s, this restored victorian farmhouse has evolved to reflect modern eurasian aesthetics, a passion for fine art and an affinity for simple, metropolitan style. The Morical house garden inn is home to eight quietly seductive guest rooms located on two acres of master gardens and lawns set against views of Grizzley Peak. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing