We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"OK Greek food, have had better"”
Review of BLUE Greek on Granite - CLOSED

BLUE Greek on Granite
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“"OK Greek food, have had better"”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went here by default since our restaurant of first choice was full! Not too busy around 6:45 PM on a Friday night. Nice weather so we sat outside. We ordered a sampler of hummus, tzatziki and spanakopita. The hummus tasted like it was missing the tahini. It was thick rather than creamy. Not my preference. There were some pita triangles for dipping which were fine. Only ONE spanakopita came on the plate! So odd! Taste was just OK. My daughter and I had a bowl of the Greek soup. This was the best of all the food we ordered. The Saganaki cheese we had was also just OK. My husbands gyro was greasy. Having had fabulous Greek food elsewhere I would say this place was OK but not one we would likely return to. The waitress was slow to bring our water on request particularly given this place was not busy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    13
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
“Awesome Greek in Ashland”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very good and quaint Greek restaurant in Downtown. Prices are reasonable and food was exquisite. It was empty when we ate, don't know if it was too early or just not a popular spot. Would definitely go back! Friendly staff. Tzatsiki sauce appetizer was very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamhill, OR
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Solid food and lovely live music”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The restaurant was nearly deserted on a Wednesday evening. Then the only other party finished their dinners and took up guitar and violin and moved to the performance area where they provided us with some really special dinner music--instrumentals and love songs gently and skillfully performed. The food was good, service was good, and the music was extra-special. The same couple plays every Wednesday evening these days.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Everjoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“I'd like to give them the benefit of the doubt...”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We were drawn to the BLUE Greek on Granite the first night in Ashland. Yes!! Authentic Green cuisine! They said they were having problems with their cooking equipment or stove or something... which ended up in having a less than exciting dining experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank megakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“very friendly good place”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Maybe because we were the first guests for dinner, we had all the attention of the waiters, of the kitchen and of the excellent guitar players that delighted us mainly with sophisticated Brazilian music.
Of course, food is front and center for a restaurant and, having been to Greece a number of times, I was not make to regret the choice. On the contrary the assorted appetizers and salad, as well as the following main courses, were of genuine taste and careful preparation.
We enjoyed the evening very very much and we'll keep this place in mind when traveling through again.
Evharisto!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefLuigiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BLUE Greek on Granite also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing