We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love history and adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here in the spring and came back in January while traveling south to California. We love the historic charm and friendly staff and Ashland is such a fun town. We'll be back in June when we go on a three day whitewater rafting trip scheduled with White Water Warehouse on the Rogue River. Ashland is the perfect place to base and we'll take in a play at the Shakespeare Festival just before the trip. We love the wines of southern Oregon too and the emphasis on locally grown food of the region. Staying at the Ashland Springs Hotel is the perfect complement to everything else.

Room Tip: Worth spending a bit more for a larger room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Ashland Springs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

I chose this hotel for a recent business trip. I hadd stay here before for pleasure, and chose it again because the hotel is the grande dame of Ashland. I wasn't disappointed. I received a complimentary room upgrade to a room with a tub, which made my business trip that much better. After sitting in meetings for 8-9 hours, it was good to come back to a clean, safe space and feel relaxed. The bed is comfortable, the hotel is quiet, even though it is on the main street.

The in-hotel restaurant was closed my first night, a fact I wish the front desk staff would have mentioned, but that is nothing I would really mark them down on.

The hotel serves a lovely expanded continental breakfast on the mezzanine... cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice.

It is a centralized location. The movie house is next door, and the plaza restaurants and Shakespearean theaters are within easy walking distance.

Why would you stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: Check their website for package options, and don't be afraid to ask at the desk.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownTheGravelRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our third stay at the Ashland Springs Hotel, continues to be a clean attractive hotel in the center of town. Nice breakfast, clean rooms with nice linens, but rooms are a bit small (so upgrade if you can).

Room Tip: Upgrade for the space
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We have been to Ashland many times over the last 35 years, but this is the first time we stayed at the Ashland Springs Hotel. Staying there meant we could park the car in the secure lot and not worry about parking for the rest of our visit! The hotel has been remodeled, but retains the 1920s flavor. We booked a 'deluxe queen' room on the 6th floor (though small it was a little larger than the standard offered, and worth the extra cost!). It was a corner room facing northeast, with a view of the main street. It was nicely decorated. The bathroom was small, but supplied with lovely soaps, shampoos and fluffy towels. The lavender bath teabag was a nice touch! The bed was comfy and at night it was quiet.
Continental breakfast is included and served buffet-style on the mezzanine floor. There was a variety of muffins, fruit, juice, hard boiled eggs, cereal, coffee and tea. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe corner room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravelduo4244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here 1/3 & 1/4 of 2012. The weather was mid 50s and sunny. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We had a spacious top floor king corner room which was filled with sunlight in the morning. The bathroom had a very deep soaking tub and an extra large shower head directly above. The Lark Restaurant was very nice and the food was great. We loved walking around the downtown area and Lithia Park. Returning to Portland, instead of going straight back up I-5, we drove east on OR 66 over the mountain and through the woods to Klamath Falls, and then on OR 140 to Medford. Great scenic drive if you are not in a hurry.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Handyrandy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This lovely boutique hotel is close to the Ashland Shakespeare Festival. Park your car in the free lot and walk to the theater, shops, restaurants. Rooms are lovely with a soothing decor, but expect small rooms. Even our upgrade was small. The restaurant is quite good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

It's a great renovation of a classic hotel. The rooms (at least the ones we get) are modest and complete. The little touches like sachets are nice.

Room Tip: Rooms start on the 3rd floor
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
830 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: £66 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing