We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world village charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Visiting a small village like Ashland Oregon is enjoyable enough with the Famous Shakespeare Festival, chocolate festival, film festival and the skiing hiking fishing art and the truly friendly people, but when you have a great restored historic place to stay like the Ashland Springs Hotel
it just makes this place one of the best experiences anywhere in the world. The hotel is walking distance to the best dining, the festivals and Lithia Park, famous for its beauty. If you like elegance and style with a European flair you will be thrilled.

Room Tip: ASk for the top floor rooms they naturally give you the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Major Pros:
the location and nearness to restaurants, theater, etc.; the service and friendliness; the large (and free) parking-lot for guests; a terrace that's great in the early mornings and evenings

Other Pros:
A reasonable breakfast (included in the room charge); decent amenities and a powerful exhaust in the bathroom; the hotel is a good reflection of the town itself

Minor Whines:
Really minor gripes - e.g., a lamp in the room wasn't working; the vending-machine was out of bottled water for the duration of my stay (it was the weekend)... nothing that took away from a very pleasant stay overall

Great service! My card-key, which should've got me into the parking-lot, didn't work at one point; and I called reception. Craig at the reception desk made a new card-key in super-quick time, and brought it out to me at the entrance, before any other car lined up behind mine!

Ashland tips:
1. After 9 pm, there are about three places (which serve food) that are open, the Black Sheep pub being one of them; conveniently, they are all within 200 yards and quite-easily walkable from the hotel.
2. The hotel doesn't serve espresso. There's the excellent Noble Coffee, which looks like no more than a window, easily walkable from the hotel. They do their own roasting of the beans, and offer at least two bean types each day.
3. Often, you may find that the hotel's parking-lot is the best place for parking downtown. It's easy enough to leave your car there and walk to a theater or restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AverageTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

On Ashland's main drag, with free parking in back, the Ashland Springs is a renovated landmark hotel. It's easy to walk to hiking trails, bike trails, shops. My room was on a hall with major foot traffic, but it was quiet. The light in the bathroom had a problem, and it was promptly fixed when I reported it. I liked he options for the breakfast buffet more than most. Two minor inconveniences: the ice machine was broken, so getting ice entailed a trip to the front desk; and the hotel has no fitness room but it does have an affiliation with a 24-hour gym. When you check in, you receive discount coupons for the spa across the street (great massage) and for the in-house restaurant, Larks (excellent). Unfortunately, Larks closes at 8, so you can't go back to the hotel after a play and get a nightcap. (There are other, nearby, watering holes, however.)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdxtanguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The charm of the Ashland Springs Hotel is what made it a very good experience for our family of four, including two kids ages 13 & 10. The antiquity, location and stylish, tasteful decor elevate it to a special place among Ashland's lodging options. Other factors, such as the hotel's amenities, room size and decor, are pretty average, nothing extraordinary there. But if you want a perfectly central location to the prettiest little town in Oregon, and a bit of old-world charm, can't beat this property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkray22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Ashland Springs is a charming, beautiful Hotel! Clean, comfortable but small room and the decor was so sweet. Great breakfast on balcony over looking the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I spent three days in Ashland and stayed at this wonderful Historical Hotel. The
rooms were small, typical of an old hotel, but thoughtfully furnished. The nice thing is that you can just park your car and walk to just about anyplace you would want to go. We look forward to our next visit to Ashland and our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the upper floors have beautiful views but very small. The small room was worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13HERL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our family stayed at this hotel on our way to and from Portland. It was a great value with breakfast in the morning. The location is in the heart of Ashland so it was an easy walk for a bite to eat and to any theater. The hotel itself is very clean and tastefully decorated with a feeling of charm and cheer. We will stay at the Ashland Springs Hotel again anytime we visit Ashland.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tallulahsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.7 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bard's Inn
Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
864 reviews
13.7 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: £67 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing