We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm/great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We visited Ashland to attend an Oregon Shakespeare Festival play (Henry V). This quaint hotel was located a very short walk away and centrally located right in the middle of town. Parking is free at the back of the hotel in a secure lot. I was a little apprehensive when I walked into the room as it was very small ("Traditional King"). The bathroom was very tight also with only a shower - no tub. The bed was extremely comfortable with feather pillows and comforter. The hospitality more than made up for the small room. Everyone you met working at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the late night snack on the 2nd floor and savoured our tea and cookies before heading up to our room. We were on the 6th floor and had a view of the city and valley beyond. We did not utilize the free continental breakfast but everyone said it was wonderful. I think the room was a little expensive considering the size. I guess you have to pair that with the proximity to the Shakespeare Festival and all the shops in town. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay in a very quaint town.

Room Tip: Choose a "deluxe" king - the front desk said it is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freckles6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We enjoyed the location of this hotel very much and found the concierge to be extremely helpful. She offered great dining recommendations and we had some good experiences as a result. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go which I consider a plus.

The room we stayed in was quite small, though it was a deluxe queen (none of the king rooms were available) as was the bathroom, though everything in it was very nicely done. I'd suggest asking for a room on the 4th floor or higher facing the street, which gives the nicest views. The view definitely added to the room's ambiance and countered the size somewhat.
The lobby and breakfast area are very beautifully done. The breakfasts are substantial and tasty. The breakfast area is on a mezzanine above the lobby with lots of light and high ceilings.
Overall we had a good experience, but be prepared for smaller rooms. The hotel was full as we were there over Easter weekend, so we weren't able to upgrade to a larger room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpringChickenNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our room was quite spacious for three travelers - 2 queens and a sitting area that included a sofa, 2 easy chairs and huge windows. Felt like a good deal at less than $100/night. Lovely decor, comfortable beds, quiet as could be...wonderful.

Front desk staff was fine if not inspired. Helpful if you asked.

The only bummer about our stay was the mini-population of mind-altered, smelly street people who hang out in plazas, parks and doorways. They sing badly, smoke weed right on the street and sway to the music. Really depressing. Not scary, just depressing. This has nothing to do with the hotel, just a phenomenon in Ashland.

Other than that, our stay was delightful. Great food, a little shopping and views of the valley that are unbelievable. We love Ashland!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fromSFtothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The rooms are definitely small, but they also have a lot of charm. The bathrooms are not large, but there is enough space. Although there is no room to store anything on the pedestal sink, there is a glass shelf which runs the length of the bathroom. I had room to spread out all of my products, so most women will be OK with the shelf.

Our friend got a room on the 9th floor. The rooms there aren't necessarily larger, but the ceilings are higher, which makes it feel a bit more spacious.

There is no coffee maker in the room, but usually they include free buffet breakfast. Yummy cinnamon rolls!

The bottom line is that if you are staying here, you're probably in town for the Shakespeare Festival. You won't be hanging out in your room that much, but you will want the convenience of being able to freshen up between plays (prefaces & festival noons are highly recommended), so the hotels within easy walking distance are the Ashland Springs Hotel, the Columbia (communal bathrooms, anyone?), or the Best Western Bard's Inn. For us, this was the best combo of comfort, convenience, and charm.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We have been to Ashland several times to attend the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and the ASH has become our favorite place to stay. We had a somewhat small deluxe corner king room that had a nice bathroom and a view of the downtown area. The air conditioning worked very well, which is important in Ashland in the summer. The room rate included a nice continental breakfast and free wifi throughout the hotel.

The ASH has a young and friendly staff. It does not have all of the personal services that come with a hotel like the Four Seasons. We brought our own luggage up and down to and from our room on a cart the hotel provided and parked our own car (for free) in the lot behind the hotel.

ASH has a great location. It is easy waking distance to the Festival theaters, several very good restaurants, including Larks right in the hotel, Lithia Park is two blocks away and Waterstone Spa is right across the street.

We were at the ASH the week of July Fourth this year. The town of Ashland has a great small town celebration on the Fourth, including a parade that goes right by the front of the hotel. The ASH reserved space and placed chairs on the street side for all of the hotel guests to watch the parade. A very nice touch.

We are looking forward to our next trip to Ashland and will definitely stay at the Ashland Springs Hotel.

Room Tip: The bed pillows are small. Bring your own if you like a large pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevinprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a charming historic hotel but be advised that rooms are small unless you upgrade to a higher level as we did. We had a fabulous 9th floor corner room and it made ALL the difference.
We loved the location. The personnel were very friendly and helpful but we were a bit surprised in the first room provided --- pretty tight. Totally acceptable but small, very European style. The upper level rooms are much roomier....

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review --- they have very small rooms but there is an opportunity to upgrade and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We just stayed at the Ashland Springs Hotel for the fourth time. This time we had a deluxe view room for $269, which was the size of a closet. There wasn't a decent chair to sit in and the room was so small that there wasn't even one nightstand, much less two.
They seem to title the room based on its view of the street(!) as there was nothing deluxe about the room. Pathetic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muncie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.7 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bard's Inn
Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
665 reviews
13.7 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: £70 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing