We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming older hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Aptos, California
1 review
“Charming older hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for quite a few years. It is convienient to the theater and most people visiting Ashland are in town to attend the OSF productions. We have stayed at quite a few places in the town on earlier trips, including elegant B and B's, but prefer the Ashland Springs. The service is always friendly and accomodating. We love the antique botanical decor. The rooms can be on the smallish size so ask for a larger one. Dinner at their Lark's restaurant is always wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    213
    56
    25
    11
See reviews for
89
362
45
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a birthday weekend at the Shakespeare festival. We stayed in their top room accommodations. The room was fine (we were hardly ever there) but they made some odd design choices. The rain-style shower head is right in the middle of the tub, so it dripped on me as I took a bath. The shelf over the sink sticks out, so you bump your head if you try to wash your face. Also there are no towel racks near the sink, they are all across the room. We were not there to watch television, but you could only see the screen from the bed, not from the sofa or chair in the sitting area. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the restaurant is lovely. I think we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlynnkSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, Ca
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We loved Ashland and the Ashland Springs Hotel. We booked a double queen bed room since everyone said those were the largest rooms (Room 711). We also bought the theatre package so we could see a play while we were there. It's an old hotel, but is elegantly furnished and very comfortable. The rooms are not huge, but certainly big enough. Our corner room only had a shower (no tub) and a single basin. We had a small refrigerator which we liked. The hotel has a mezzanine where you can get afternoon tea and after dinner tea (no coffee or tea making facilities in the room). The staff are not very sophiticated but pleasant enough. The hotel has a private parking lot at the back of the hotel. There is no bell service so you need to be prepared to get your luggage to the room. The elevator is not very fast or large.

Room Tip: As for a corner room with two queen beds on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

The rooms are decidedly small but nice in this center of town hotel near the theaters, nothing more than two blocks away. With one elevator though, and nine stories, you can wait long to go up and down (no doorman so expect no help) or you can take the stairs, okay if you are within the first four floors.
Rooms are basic. Bed, bathroom, very small closet, flat-screen television. Some with couch, some without. The lay-outs range a bit, so if you plan to spend time in the room, make sure to ask for a larger one. See if you can get one that does not face directly onto the street (or is on a lower level) since most rooms face the town's main street, which can be noisy during the day, no so at night. Rooms are air-conditioned. Nice beds, warm with good pillows.
The breakfast served is very basic -- oatmeal, toast, fruit -- and the food at the hotel is so-so. No bar in the evening after theater, which is disappointing. Go down the street for coffee at the little shop that serves from the sidewalk, called New Hudson, I think. No gym but for $5 you have access to one about four blocks away. It has every conceivable machine, so it turns out not to be a bad deal.
Service is okay. Not swift, not looking to bend over backwards. If you don't like your room ask for a new one and push, otherwise you may just be shrugged off. Cascade Taxi services hotel from Medford Airport, about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or one not directly facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev1438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

My husband and I celebrated our recent 22nd anniversary at the lovely Ashland Springs Hotel and could not be more impressed. This historic hotel is perfectly located in the middle of town and two blocks to the OSF. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the baths are large. We had a view corner room which was light and bright. The staff were friendly, helpful, and very professional without being stuffy. We would recommend the Ashland Springs to anyone traveling to Ashland and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Corner suites have nice views and are good size, but would be quieter on the west side of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debwost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is a wonderful historic hotel in the heart of Ashland, Oregon. They have a limited number of rooms with double beds, but they are lovely rooms with spacious bathrooms. It is walking distance from the Shakespeare festival and close to come fantastic restaurants in the quaint downtown area. Breakfast is included and in the evening they have a nosh spread from 3-5pm and again after the theater shows from 9pm-midnight. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NerdyTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTLAND
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

In my youth this used to be called the "Marc Anthony" and I'm finally delighted to have tried the place. My wife and I bought a OSF play package... which made the cost of it all very very reaonable (as the hotel offers "A" or "A+" tickest to the Shakespeare shows), and it included money to spend in the hotel restaurant ("Lark").

The hotel is about 9 stories tall (tall for Ashland) and we had a LOVELY room (#610) on the corner facing SE (about where there are curtains open in their photo). The room had wonderful views (two directions) and was a spacious king... and a very nice bathroom; it's decorations were also very nice. The lobby is "old world" and the front desk people were great.

Parking is behind the building which puts you at about level 3... meaning you'll first have to go inside and get a card-key so you can even get into the lot. It's free, and other complimentary things included: wi-fi (that worked well), cookies and drinks after the play (on their mezanine from about 9pm to 11pm), and a pretty good continental breakfast in the Larks (attached).

The hotel is a mere block or two from the Oregons Shakespeare Fesitval area, and there are few hotels this close to all the action. True, it's one of the more expensive places, but the package they offered was hard to beat. Definitely worth the stay.

The Larks restaurant was pretty good. Although the setting was nothing special (note: get reservations and mention something like an anniversary and you'll likely get a window table), the service was good and the food was very good. There are oodles of excellent places to eat in Ashland, but our package included spending money here so we were happy. :-)

Room Tip: The "view KING rooms" up high on a corner are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Property: Ashland Springs Hotel
Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing