We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location, very pleasant room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Even though we've been in Ashland many times, this was our first stay at the Ashland Springs Hotel. It was a wonderful experience. We rented three rooms for six of us. They were small, but very bright and nicely furnished. We had lovely views of town and of the hills beyond. The location could not be better--just 1-2 blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and 1-2 blocks from great restaurants, interesting shops, and the leafy green oasis of Lithia Park. The room included a very nice continental breakfast in a comfortable and spacious dining area, and free parking right in the middle of Ashland. It was well worth the price. My only very slight complaint is that the front desk staff was overwhelmed. She was friendly and efficient and made us feel welcome, but things took a little longer than they might with some extra help up front.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed it. The location on the main street is perfect for an Ashland visit. The rooms are small, but clean. Continental breakfast served in the Larks Restaurant is included and after-theater snacks are served on the mezzanine level at night. The theaters are mere minutes away as well as many good restaurants. Will return to Ashland and will again stay at the Ashland Springs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criancadodeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Booked a night at this hotel before checking into a B&B. Got a call at lunchtime ON THE DAY OF our booking that they were overbooked and couldn't honor our reservation. Offered to book us at a sister hotel 2 miles down the road which was a) much less nice and b) 2 miles down the road. We didn't have a car. No offer of comped anything, barely a sorry.

Oh, and they charged our credit card for the price of the hotel down the road before they called us, so we had to get two refunds from them.

I understand that occasionally mistakes happen, but this screwed up our vacation and to not offer any sort of renumeration was shocking.

Terrible service. Hotel looked nice though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Good morning Mr. R,
I am very sorry you feel this way about our customer service. Please allow me to clarify a few things.
I allowed myself to contact you via email and phone a day before your scheduled arrival, as indeed we were oversold. We made sure we took care of you and 1) offered you accommodations in a spa bungalow at our sister resort and 2) discounted your rate by 50%. Since you had a reservation at Ashland Springs Hotel, and had paid an advance deposit at the time of booking, I went ahead and refunded half of it the moment we transferred your reservation to the resort. Thus, we did not charge you anything for your resort stay, but instead refunded half of your initial deposit.
When you called me back you informed me that there is no need to transfer you, as you were able to add that first night of your stay in Ashland to your existing reservation at the local B&B. You explained to me kindly that your plan from the beginning was to stay at that B&B with the group of friends, but the B&B was full and did not have that initial day available until the day we spoke. You told me it worked out great as you did not have to move anywhere during your vacation. We then refunded the second half of your deposit.
As you see, we never charged your card for the stay at the resort, but instead we refunded your stay. We always pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and all communication with you indicated that you were satisfied with how we handled this situation. I would highly appreciate if you could contact me directly and let me know in what way my effort to take care of your stay could be improved. Again thank you for your feedback. We hope you reconsider your opinion about our historic hotel and our team.
Respectfully, Karolina Wyszynska-Lavagnino, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

To celebrate my husband's birthday, we spent two nights in this wonderfully quaint hotel. We reserved a boutique queen room which was small, but lovely and well appointed. We stayed on the 5th floor and had a view of the Rogue River Valley. Our location was central to everything of interest in Ashland. We had a wonderful time walking in Lithia Park, experiencing Shakespeare in the outdoor theatre, and visiting Ashland's many shops. We had a fabulous dinner at Lark's (in the hotel) and took in a Cabaret show! All-in-all this was a relaxing, peaceful visit and we plan to return for the 2014 Season. We've been to Ashland many times. This was the first time we didn't worry about finding parking. We parked "once" and walked and walked. Loved this aspect of our trip!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. The parking lot for the hotel is off the 3rd floor, making it very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilynrupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Ok... just have to say... Play was at 8... tired from driving... wake-up call at 7PM requested...and just happened to wake up before the call came at 7:20. I was a good sport... wasn't going to say a thing... but the chirpy voice at the other end says, "Hi... just calling to make sure you got your wake-up call" . Really?? Since when do hotels call at 7, then call again to make sure you got it at 7:20??? Dude! Just say, "Oh, I apologise... we've been really swamped down here." Seriously?? Just checking??? That annoyed me no end, though I graciously told him I was already up. Could have been a disaster...but luckily the location is just a 2 minute walk form the theaters.

Location is great. Room was super clean. Bed was wonderful. Bathroom fairly roomy. Though we had the cheapest level king-bed room, they put us on the 4th floor with a view of the hills in the distance. I am not a light sleeper, so slept with the window open.... but a light sleeper would need to close the window as there is some traffic noise.

Loved the after-theater snacks... what a wonderful treat late at night. Again, though, the front desk failed us, as nobody told us about it either at check-in or when we asked about check-out details returning from the theater. We happened to discover it as we saw someone entering the elevator with tea on our way to the room.

Included continental breakfast was very complete, with boiled eggs and oatmeal on top of the usual fare. Parking also included in their price.

Despite the poor front desk communications, will rate this hotel well for comfort, location, and a fair price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We go to Ashland every year for the Shakespeare festival and decided to try a hotel more in the heart of Ashland.

Pros:
- Perfect location. One block from the theaters and restaurants.

Cons:
- Rooms, tiny and run down. Clearly an aging property.
- Room noise, needs retrofitting for sound proofing. Heard neighbors chattering.
- Restaurant. Poor quality-price ratio.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest one they have?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed for three days in this lovely historical hotel for a wedding. Yes, the rooms are small, a bit tired but it's all about the location. Ashland is an awesome town and this hotel is smack dab in the middle which means you can walk everywhere. Their breakfast is light, yummy and their cinnamon rolls are made by scratch each morning...don't forget to try one or four! Great place for a wedding too...the meal was the best food I ever ate at a reception.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccc1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.7 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bard's Inn
Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
864 reviews
13.7 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: £68 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing