We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ashland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A lovely place to stay when in town for a play, or just to play! Lovely rooms and close to shopping and theaters. We had a delightful dinner at Lark, the restaurant in the hotel, and then walked to the theater. Would recommend this hotel highly!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perkytraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Ashland Springs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I were driving through in the middle of the night with our dog and we decided we needed a place to stay. We looked at some hotels in some cities south of Ashland and we didn't like the feel of those places at all. Then, we stumbled upon Ashland Springs. We thought, "There is no way they are going to allow us to stay at a place like with with our 70 pound lab". To our amazement, they allow dogs. It was a beautiful place. Very friendly staff and had a cool classic old feel to it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a great room with private bath. Nice breakfast. Great location for OSF. Clean room, great location, comfy bed. Overhead fan. Book early to get a room with a private bath and to get a larger room. We have come here many times and have never been disappointed. Helpful, gracious staff.

Room Tip: Book early to get a good room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcmcbride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If you want all the goo-gaws that hotels pack their rooms with these days, this classy ole dame isn't the place for you. If you want to feel like you've stepped back in time to a simpler way of life you've found it! That's why we stay here over and over. Yes, the rooms are small but the ceilings are high, one of us has to stay put for the other to navigate the space but the windows offer magnificent views and abundant light. The furnishings, drapes, etc are fantastic and classy ... and the subway-tiled bathroom and porcelain tub sublime. There's nothing wrong with it being a place "to sleep and not much else", get out and do what people used to do back in the day, enjoy the town, walk in Lithia Park, laze in the lobby, grab an evening snack on the mezzanine, meet other guests at the breakfast buffet. Chill out, turn your electronics off, restore. Love, love, love this elegant diva. Brava!

Room Tip: 816 on north side, views are magnificent.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Okay, maybe I should have spent more money and sprung for a larger room.

I booked a "traditional room" in the historic Ashland Springs Hotel and found it to be of European dimensions. That is, it is a room with just enough room for a queen bed and not much elbow room. Plus the bathroom looks like it was an 'afterthought" which was not in the original hotel plan. You'll find that you can't open both the bathroom door and the closet without a conflict. This is a room for sleeping and not much else.

Fortunately, the lobby is grand and spacious with a mezzanine balcony and ceiling fans that remind you that this hotel was build before the era of air-conditioning. We found that we spent much more time relaxing and doing internet based work here than in our room.

The location of the Ashland Springs Hotel is ideal for attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. You can park your car in the hotel lot and walk the rest of your time here. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the festival and a very easy walk down to the plaza.

You find a nice continental breakfast served every morning in the adjacent Lark's restaurant. This breakfast is rich with carbohydrates, fruit, and sweet things. You find some egg salad and hard boiled eggs as the major protein on the buffet. The restaurant staff does an outstanding job of keeping the buffet stocked, so be sure to put a tip in the jar.

There is also a modest 'snack bar' on the balcony level in the evenings. You'll find some popcorn, cookies, lemonade, and hot drinks. This is a nice place to compare notes about the evening's performance with other guests. We were not the only ones to bring our own bottle so we could have a after-performance drink in this lovely setting.

Next time, I will loosen the purse-strings and try a larger room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We keep coming back to the Ashland Springs Hotel each year, because of its reliably high level of service and comfort. Gigi, the concierge, is outstandingly warm and gracious, as are her colleagues at the front desk and at the hotel's casually elegant restaurant, Lark's.

There's really just one small area for improvement that I would recommend: the items available for the continental
breakfast are a bit too predictable. I do love the cinnamon rolls, and I hope they'll keep those, but some diversity with the other items, say having a quiche or similar egg casserole instead of always having hardboiled eggs, and maybe more seasonal expressions, like pumpkin muffins in October, would
enhance the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diploconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived at the Ashland Springs really tired and just a little cranky. We had just driven most of the day to visit Crater Lake National Park. Being on vacation we were out of touch with current events and didn't realize the park would be closed due to the shutdown. Lisa, at the front desk , was a real superstar. All I did was mention that it had been a long day and right away gave us a room upgrade with a spectacular view on the eighth floor. Right away we felt welcome and began to relax. The hotel is vintage but up to date with comfortable beds and a great shower. Parking is free, the breakfast is good and I enjoyed the nighttime snack.

Room Tip: Choose a high room overlooking downtown. The view is great.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lannyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
830 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: £66 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing