We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager has a terrible memory, lacks customer service skills”
Review of Timbers Motel

Timbers Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Timbers Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Reviewed 18 September 2013

When we 1st arrived the employee was super friendly, this was a Wednesday evening so we paid for 1 night, later in the evening we decided to stay again so hubby went up & paid By Thursday evening decided to pay for 1 more night hubby went up and paid by CC to the manager. So Friday we go zip lining early arrive back and Manager was standing on curb staring at us and says in a very rude tone "Did you know c/out was at 11am? Well of course we knew I said but he came up last night and paid you, he stood there and argued w/us denying any wrong doing and then saying see I'll show you all the receipts, we didn't see it but we knew we paId. He was scamming us. So hubby went to a secure sight and brought up all 3 charges & went to office to show manager & oh the guy says he's off duty. Longer story short I insisted he call the manager back and finally they relented, and finally he refunded the extra 100bucks to our account. I just feel he could have & should have handled it in a much nicer more polite way!!! So the bathroom is small, bed was very comfy, very small room w/2 beds. AC worked Ok bad location for unit. There continental breakfast is a huge joke!!

They rated the Pizza next door as excellent, we thought it was terrible not much flavor!

I most deff will not be back, parking is very limited & small. Who wants to deal w/a unsavory manager while on Vacation not me!! He offered no discounts for all our troubles, Just oops!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Looking for something small and independent, we read the TripAdvisor reviews and decided on Timbers Motel for our night in Ashland.

There was a line of folks checking in - mostly our age or older (50+) - and the manager took his time with everyone, answering questions and being thorough with the process. We checked in and got to our room, right off the small parking area (convenient for unloading our gear).

The room appears to have been recently updated - matelesse comforters, newly tiled sink area and toilet area. It seemed clean and well-kept, and there was a small fridge and microwave, plus free Wi-Fi, which we appreciate.

We walked to downtown, which was almost 2 miles. It was a pleasant walk, past SOU and many houses, both interesting and lovely. We saw lots of folks out and about, walking and riding their bikes - there were plenty of safe crosswalks to use. If walking is not something you're up for, you may not want to consider Timber Motel, unless you want to drive and deal with the parking. We were totally comfortable with our accommodations, the location and the price. We would consider Timber Motel for an Ashland do-again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lovely little spot, 2 queen beds for myself and my husband and 2 kids aged 11 and 13, fridge, microwave and coffee maker in room, just stayed for 1 night passing through. Small pool but perfect after a long drive. Check in was quick, efficient and pleasant. Small continental breakfast available, parking lot shared with really lovely pizzeria which is very convenient. Beds, rooms and towels spotlessly clean. Good value at 98 for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Location is OK and price at $103 with tax was reasonable for Ashland. Place was very clean. Now the downside - walls are paper thin and the crowd staying when I did we're very loud. Cops were here to chat to one of them. I had a whining dog in the room next door trying to scratch his way into my room and there appeared to be deliveries until late in the night at the neighborhood restaurants and grocery store. The decision is yours

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdub10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The 3 of us were doing a SOU campus tour. We didn't want to spend a lot for just one night and reserved a room going by the reviews. We would stay here again. Clean, comfortable beds, everything we needed and the pizza place being right next door, a grocery store and smoothies place opposite. It was perfect for us but we weren't searching for anything fancy. Yes on the rough TP and breakfast left a bit to be desired so opted out.

Room Tip: Perfect for a night if doing a campus tour at SOU. 10% discount too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 165maryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

So we stayed at Timbers Motel one night and then decided to try a different one to be adventurous. We tried Cedarwood Inn because the price was comparable, and they had a better customer view rating...Let me just say TIMBERS MOTEL is WAY WAY better! So much so that we turned the keys back in at Cedarwood, didn't stay the night there and went back to Timbers Motel!

Ok specifics: First night at Timbers we stayed upstairs in a single king. Cons: The floor was really creaky (every step), and the bed was not perfect. BUT the room was clean, bed spreads were a really nice neutral print (way better than the old floral bedspreads at other hotels).

They have flatscreen tv's, Cedarwood doesn't have flat screen tvs in all their rooms, if you can believe that! little, old tube tvs. Timbers had flawless WiFi, Cedarwood's Wifi was not working properly at first and then it was slow.

Timbers bathrooms were clean! They have bathtubs and toilet seats have sanitized paper over it so you know it was cleaned. Cedarwood, had no tub, and the grout in the showers had black mold so I knew I wouldn't want to walk in there barefooted. I love tubs, so this was an important factor for me.

Pool: Timbers had a pretty small outside pool. Kinda funny really, more like a big hot tub.

The overall feel of the rooms at Timbers are peaceful, clean and comfortable.

I never ever write reviews but I was so surprised with this find! We're definitely coming back to stay here whenever we come to Ashland! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here twice within a month, going to and from Portland. We had to stay the second time, because we liked it so much. Dog friendly rooms. Both rooms were very comfortable and clean. Great service. Awesome location. The first time, we ate at the pizza place across from the hotel, which was superb. The second time at a burrito place a few block in the other direction, which was awesome too. And the Beanary - try the coffee or pastries. Ashland is such a beautiful town. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Writetaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ashland
213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Ashland
Rodeway Inn Ashland
#13 of 19 in Ashland
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
1.7 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
1.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbers Motel

Address: 1450 Ashland St, Ashland, OR 97520-2323
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: £47 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Timbers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Timbers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbers Hotel Ashland
Timbers Motel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing