We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, comfortable”
Review of Timbers Motel

Timbers Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Timbers Motel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, comfortable”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After attending a play at the Ashland Shakespeare Festival in which some of the characters got murdered in their sleep, I might have tossed and turned all night, but I returned to my room at the Timbers and fell asleep right away. I guess that means they did an excellent job at the main thing a motel is supposed to do......My room was comfortable and quiet.

This is an older building but seems to have been renovated recently. The rooms were quite nice inside, clean, and well-equipped (microwave, fridge, iron and ironing board, TV, air conditioning, excellent WiFi, plenty of water pressure and hot water in the shower). All in good working order. Location is near the university, with several restaurants and a grocery store in the immediate neighborhood. It's a bit far to the downtown and Ashland Shakespeare Festival, but a pleasant and easy walk. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HumbleTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    40
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
30
32
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The room is just a hotel room but was clean and adequate for our purposes. The front desk personnel were very helpful with directions, places to eat and things to do in the area. It's a no-frills kind of place but served out needs. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for one night on a drive up the West Coast. The rooms, staff, and location are perfectly pleasant. However, if your room is located near the office, banging noises from the service area can last into the night. Also, the continental breakfast was very sparse, just coffee and some underripe bananas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here on our west coast road trip. For the price, and our last minute booking, we expected an above average room. But our room was surprisingly good! The room looked recently updated and had good carpeting and linens. Clean looking and smelling too. I've stayed at best westerns that weren't as good as this. King bed was really comfortable. Fairly big refrigerator.
Minus one star for false advertising on Expedia. If you say you offer free breakfast, you'd better offer more than coffee, muffins and random fruits. Not cool. Luckily there was a Safeway close by, we picked up some cereal and milk. Ashland downtown is about 2-2.5 miles away.
Be aware that the walls are pretty thin. We didn't have next door neighbors but we could hear the people on tip walking around. Also, the motel is located in front of a shopping complex which is convenient, but we could hear every truck that was in the parking lot. On busy delivery days, we can imagine how it can be inconvenient. The lower rooms are below ground level at the back too, so you feel the vibrations.
all in all, great value for the money.

Room Tip: rooms at the top may be quieter, since you wont hear footsteps from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I visit Ashland to see family most years at Thanksgiving, and would much rather pay for a budget hotel than stay on a couch. This is my second cheap motel and probably the best service that I've ever had at a motel. The front desk guy, who was there every time we went to the front office, was very nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was small, but exactly what I needed to start the day (bananas, juice, and english muffins). Coffee and tea was available in the reception area as well.

The room was clean, lots of towels, and fairly new looking furniture. There was a table with two chairs in the room, which is perfect for laptops or board games. Large mini-fridge, microwave, and flat screen TV were all nice amities. If it's not freezing cold out, it is a nice walk to the downtown area or around the SOU campus.

On the bad side, the wireless internet was slow, and we had some crazy loud neighbors. However, it's a budget motel, so I can't really expect perfection.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

If you want a really clean, basic (wifi, microwave, bar fridge) room, this is good value. We paid $52 for 2 and had real orange juice, a banana and English muffin to start the day. Some traffic noise and normal motel sounds but we slept fine. We really enjoyed the 1 1/2 mile walk downtown and back and had a nice dinner in Ashland. Was perfect for a night on the road.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarrbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
1.1 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbers Motel

Property: Timbers Motel
Address: 1450 Ashland St, Ashland, OR 97520-2323
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Timbers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Timbers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbers Hotel Ashland
Timbers Motel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing