We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bargain, convenient and clean.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timbers Motel

Timbers Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Timbers Motel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bargain, convenient and clean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

I read an initial review that was discouraging. But decided to stay at Timber's after being recommended by another motel manager in the area. We stayed in Ashland because we were attending a wedding in Gold HIll and didn't want to stay in Medford. We stayed in an upstairs room and had a beautiful view of the Cascade Mountains, Southern Oregon University and a glorious sunset. Wished we had stayed in the family unit with the kitchenette, which offered more space and a sitting area. My husband loved the convenience of the nearby coffee shops and quality market.

Air conditioning worked well and keep us comfortable in 92 degree weather. The convenience of being close to town was perfect. Free internet? wow! Can't get that in California.
.
The pool was refreshing after a long hot drive from California. A steal of a deal for those on a budget. Don't forget to tip the housekeeper. Coming back to a clean room after a hot day is nice. A visit to Lithia Park is a must. We look forward to returning to Ashland (for Shakespeare Festival) and staying at the Timber's!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonmama510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    39
    22
    5
    10
See reviews for
29
32
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed at The Timbers on Sept 10, 2004, and were suprised at the quality of the room. It had coffee, micro, fridge, iron/board, and lots of room. Nice pool and the manager was very helpful and friendly. It's on a great bikeway into downtown (2 miles), and less than a block to our favorite restaurant in town, "Omar's". Next door is an excellent grocery and there are lots of restaurants nearby as well. On top of all this, it was less than $100 with all taxes included. I highly recommend this place, it's well worth the price!

  • Liked — Amenities and location on the main bike route through town
  • Disliked — Not a thing!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salishan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

Tried to book online, since they were rated cheap. WARNING! You get what you pay for! At their website, I inquired about a room on a certain date. They asked for my name, address, phone #, credit card info. With some trepidation, I provided all requested info. They responded: "Thx. We will get back to you with the status of your reservation request." Weeks passed and I heard nothing. I then booked with another Ashland motel, the Stratford, one of the best, but more expensive than Timbers. The transaction online with Stratford was completed flawlessly in 10 minutes. A month later, I checked my Mastercard account online and found a charge from Timber for $100 !!! I fired off an email, demanding a refund and accusing them of a scam. Their general manager responded saying they would agree to a refund, saying their clerk "forgot" to send me an email confirming my reservation. She then scolded me because I: 1) failed to followup with a phone call or letter when my promised email confirmation didn't come thru and 2) accused them of any dishonesty, since they were a "long-standing Mom and Pop organization." In other words, when they charged my MC account, but failed to inform me accordingly, it was my responsibility to contact them and find out what they were doing. The general manager said: quote: "When 'we' asked for your credit card information, that wasn't us, personally -- that was just the web site." This is a "Mom and Pop" organization in the truest sense of the word: i.e., Not ready to do business in the 21st Century. Recommendation: Spend a few bucks more and deal with real professionals, not incompetent whiners who screw up and then blame the customer.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — incompetent online booking service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wwwreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ashland hotels

California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

We booked this hotel because it was close to downtown and reasonably priced. When we arrived, we were initially disappointed - the hotel is surrounded by a strip-mall; the pool is small. But, in the end we were very pleased. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and clean, and had all the ammenities of a more expensive hotel. The area was quiet and the motel was within walking distance of a few good breakfast places. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — value for the money
  • Disliked — the pool - which we ended up not using
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mimidemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillammok, Or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

I was injured while staying at this Motel due to their negligence. The manager sent me a free overnight stay in their king suite. The letter thanked me for being a guest and that they "we're sorry for the less than satisfactory experience". I called and asked for a number of their insuance company and/or attorney and Max refused to give me either . He said I was not a registered guest only my friend was. So, if that is correct why did he send a letter about my recent stay? They obviously will not accept responsibilty for their mistake or care about my injury...................Stay here at your own risk!!!

  • Liked — Sensitivity of the check out clerk
  • Disliked — Getting hurt due to their negligence.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank coastalresident207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacoma
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

The motel seemed shabby but ok at check in. Then we had a bubbling noise come out of our bathroom which turned out to be a back up into the bath tub. We bought cleaning wipes even after the maid came and did our ouw clean up from then on. Four night stay for a class, couldn't wait to leave.

Helpful?
Thank nlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2007

It's plain and simple it's affordable, close to everything and the Managers know me very well. This has been family owned and operated for 40 years. They really updated many things and its kinda like a B&B, I chose the King suite every time. I wouldn't go anywhere else when I know I could get the best location and a really clean room. I tell you give it a shot!

  • Liked — Friendly, cost efficient
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELLADYTorrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbers Motel

Property: Timbers Motel
Address: 1450 Ashland St, Ashland, OR 97520-2323
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Timbers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Timbers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbers Hotel Ashland
Timbers Motel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing