We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and basic”
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I've stayed at the Stratford Inn a couple of times in the last 3 years. It is a basic hotel with comfortable beds, a continental breakfast, and a swimming pool. It is conveniently located to downtown and easy walking distance to the Shakespearean Festival; safe to walk at night. I prefer to have a quiet room and request the parking lot side, which works fine. There is a Safeway next to the hotel. There are sometimes large groups of students that stay here, but it's never been too noisy for me. I recommend this hotel for a basic, comfortable night. The staff is friendly and the hotel well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatfriendDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback! We’re proud to have you as a repeat visitor. Comfort, cleanliness, and customer service are extremely important to us, and we’re happy to hear that we’ve achieved your standards of quality! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ashland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

Located downtown, just a leisurely stroll to OSF and shops! Safeway is located directly next door and with a fridge/freezer in our room, it made for a perfect combination! The room was equipped with a kitchenette which was perfect for travelers on a budget! Our room was very clean upon arrival and the maid service received each day was great! The staff is super friendly and helpful. The front desk girls always greeted us with a smile and dealt with the noise from the hours we spent in the pool. A nice perk is the coffee shop located upstairs, their coffee is fantastic and items purchased can be charged to your room. All in all, was a great place to stay and we will be back again! Way to go Stratford Inn team, you exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: Ask for weekly rates and OSF discount. Although they aren't in the AAA book, they offer AAA rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AppleJacks541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Front Office Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you so much for you comments! We're so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations that kind of feedback always puts a smile on our faces. We're happy to hear that you'll be staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My trip to Ashland was the first, and by far its going to be the best. We stayed at the Stratford Inn, and it was wonderful. I couldn't recommend it more. If you are looking for a great night stay. You have to stay there. Family owned and operate-- it felt like home!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lelela220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Front Office Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

We're so grateful for your lovely review. Our gaol is to be our guests' "home away from home," and we're happy to hear that you felt we succeeded. We'll do our best to make your second visit even better than your first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stratford Inn is conveniently located for theatre goers for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.
Because we were staying multiple nights, we booked a kitchenette/spa suite which turned out to be on the ground level. The unit was very dark (it is below street level) and although the hotel professes to be "smoke-free" our unit had a certain unpleasant odor of old cigarette smoke. When we spoke to the front desk. the unit was sprayed with something that produced an odor more offensive than what we were trying to eliminate. No amount of airing did the job. Housekeeping service was hit and miss. We had to ask for toilet tissue when the existing roll was more than half gone. The continental breakfast is mediocre.

Room Tip: Book a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agent8698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Front Office Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're continually striving to not just meet, but exceed our guests' needs, and feedback like yours is very important for showing us where improvement is necessary. We do take our non-smoking policy very seriously, and all our guests are required to initial our non-smoking policy at registration. If our housekeppers detect the scent of cigarette smoke after a guest has checked out, the room undergoes a deep cleaning, including laundering the curtains, running an aerator and shampooing the carpets when necessary. We sincerely apologize if those measure were not enough in this case, and we have informed our staff about your comments. I'm happy to inform you that we are currently undergoing some renovations which will included a fully remodedled unit on the first floor as well as new carpeting in the hallways. Again, we appreciate your feedback and apologize that your experience was not up to par.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The beds were wonderfully comfortable. The location is really close to downtown, so you can walk without having the fear of having nowhere to park. The costumer service was extremely helpful, considerate and just pleasant all around.

Something really neat is that the hotel is connected to a really nice coffee shop.

Had a great time. Ashland is great.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackwiggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I was told my room with the AARP discount would be 80-85 dollars. Very reasonable for Ashland. I wanted to go to a play and spend the night. I didn't need any frills. I was surprised to see my credit card charged 118 dollars....Still reasonable for Ashland, but not what I was told. When I called about it, I was told I initialed the card allowing the 90.00 for the room..and they always charged more for incidentals, in case you had any, and since I had signed the card there was nothing they could do about it. Teach me to read what I'm initialling! My room was pretty dismal...and had an unpleasant odor. i had a view of the back parking lot...ok...beyond that I had mountains...Anyway next time I'll pay more and stay downtown where I can get some enjoyment for my money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HelloMedford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Room was clean and decent. Hostess very pleasant. Stairway was narrow and carpeting was filthy. Nice pool with tiny hot tub. Hot tub was actually hot enough, a very pleasant change from most hotels! Overall, a decent night's sleep, but rather expensive for the value.

Stayed: October 2010
2  Thank dancin_kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bard's Inn
Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
870 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Sherman St & Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing