We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of 12 Jul Visit”
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Review of 12 Jul Visit”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at your inn many tilmes in the past when visting the festival and were very happy with the facility and location. We decided after a number of years to return to Ashland for the festival and were very disappointed with the acommodations. The people at the inn were very helpful and courteous but-- the room was in desperate need of upgrading and repairs needed to be made: the air conditioner was extremely loud, the toilet was dripping all night, the lights between the 2 beds were not working, the bed needed a new matress (very uncomfortable-- I could feel the springs!)), and the bottom sheet looked like it has not been changed. I hope you will look into this. As I mentioned, we enjoyed our previous visits and would like to see these improvements made before we can again use your facility. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Mary G.

I’m sorry that your stay was less than enjoyable. I wanted to let you know that we have addressed all the issues you have mentioned in your review above.

I also want to state that both beds in your room were new mattress and they tend to be more on the firmer side. We also referred back to our housekeeping linen report for the day that you were schedule to check in, and we can report that the linens were indeed clean and changed.

We hope to show you and your family our improvements the next time you visit..

Sincerely,
Stratford Inn
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    216
    76
    27
    10
See reviews for
235
176
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We regularly stay at the Stratford and don't even think of alternatives. Its location, comfort and service are perfect for our needs. We have only one complaint: breakfast. The food is adequate, but the location is dreadful! It is crowded, noisy, either too hot or too cold and reminiscent of a down-at -heels summer camp. We have very pleasant memories of breakfast in the room that is now a separate restaurant. That was a highlight of each day at the Inn. We have tried it. Even if you are willing to pay extra for it, the food is not very attractive and the service, in our experience, has been erratic. Mostly, it seems like a lot of wasted space and an insult to those who loyally go each year to the Inn. May it go quickly into bankruptcy and leave the space to return to the patrons of the Inn.

Room Tip: Second and third floor rooms on the east side are be best; great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 178JamesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear 178JamesS,

Thank you so much for your review.

I’m sorry to hear that our breakfast room isn’t as pleasing as it once was. I recommend that breakfast can be taken to any location in the hotel; Boulevard Coffee, either of our patios and your room.

Please contact me for more assistance in the future with any of your reservations.

Best Regards,

Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Rooms and property at this remodeled hotel are adequate. Our room was a "mountainside" room overlooking parkling lot and was quiet...except that the AC unit was noisy, blowing on and off and rattling a bit until we stuck a book on it. Linens clean and adequate, as was the bathroom. Breakfast is not much - coffee not that good, some juices, toasts, cold cereal, and a couple of hot things like biscuits and gravy. Plenty of parking. It is very convenient to downtown Ashland, only walk a couple of blocks. It also sits right on the edge of the Railroad District, convenient to other galleries. I know that prices skyrocket during the summer season in Ashland and you have little choice but the price shold be at least 30% cheaper for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuadaSilverHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear NuadaSilverHand,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to the Stratford Inn.
It is always a pleasure to receive comments from our guests.

We take each review into consideration and are working on making the breakfast more enjoyable for our guest.

We look forward to your future visit.

Sincerely,

Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Locally owned, wonderful service, clean, great pool for families, great location for walking to theaters and shops, easy parking, free internet - it is not fancy but it's a great place! Our family always uses it when we go to Ashland, at least once a year. The breakfast service area is kinda crowded, but the food is always fresh and good, they've improved on the crowded feeling by moving some toasters to a different spot, and there's a lovely coffee shop attached to the hotel if you'd rather go there. I especially liked a new feature this year, guest-written reviews of plays! You really can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Breakfast is on the second floor right by the elevator and one side of the hotel is on a road. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Mary Ellen S,
Thank you for your wonderful review!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ashland.

Please contact me for more assistance in the future with any of your reservations.

Best Regards,

Stacy Lee
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We always stay here when we come through Ashland. The close proximity to downtown makes the Strattford a great place to stay. Also, the staff is very polite and helpful. The rooms are always clean and well appointed. The breakfast offerings could use a bit more attention and better coffee. However, what they have is adequate. This is a wonderful place to stay and we will continue to do so..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Terence B,
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the cleanliness, comfort and spaciousness of your room.

Our team members will be acknowledged for their friendly service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have stayed at the Stratford Inn several times. It's an easy walk to restaurants, theaters, shops, Lithia Park, etc. It's quiet, and the rooms are good sized and well taken care of. The weak area is the breakfast offerings--limited choices, though adequate. We keep coming back because of the care the staff takes and because the location is quiet and the rooms are fine. While someone noted the Bard's Inn has a better breakfast, the room we had when we stayed there was tiny and noisy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cw902davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Cw902davis,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Stratford Inn. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations; it appears we did that for you and your family.

We are taking all our reviews that we have received and making changes to the breakfast to make it more desirable for all of are guest.

Again, thank you for the compliments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my grand-daughter. Arrived, parked the car, checked in and never got back in the car until we left. Walking distance to theaters, restaurants, shopping, including grocery store. Nice sized rooms, comfy beds, updated bathroom, plenty of storage, nice set up with refrigerator, small freezer, full size microwave. Breakfast room is open for several hours which is nice if you don't get back from the show until late. Nice touches with indoor pool, outdoor seating, even an outdoor fire pit. Used to stay at the best western Bards Inn until they got rude and haughty. Nice to find a great place with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Joyce R,

Thank you for all your charming compliments.

I’m so glad you and your granddaughter got to enjoy some quality time together at our establishment.

We look forward to your future visit.

Please contact me for more assistance in the future with any of your reservations.

Best Regards,

Stacy Lee
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
790 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Property: Stratford Inn
Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing