We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appreciated the quaint, hospitable atmosphere.”
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I would say that the hotel itself is cute, a bit pricey for the quality of room you get, but great location and front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The beds aren't the best but the small breakfast buffet was varied and tasty. We appreciated the patio area and the indoor pool. The grocery across the street (literally) helps make up for the lack of hot food available in the evenings, but a binder or list of delivery menus at the desk may be a good idea for this who want to order to their rooms. Overall, nice stay with the kids and great pool hours, open late! Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Dear martasp,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us online. I will be sure to let the desk staff know of your lovely expressions.

The front desk does have a list of all the restaurants in town and would be happy to provide with a list of places that deliver in Ashland. I will suggest placing that list in rooms as well.

We appreciate your feedback on our continental breakfast.

I am glad to hear you and your family enjoyed our lovely patio and indoor pool.

We look forward to having you join us in the future.

Sincerely,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for a weekend and this hotel had everything we needed for our stay. We were greeted with warm cookies, and the desk personnel were very friendly. The pool looked nice, although we did not use it. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Each room has a small refrigerator with a freezer, a microwave and a coffee pot. Couple this with Safeway across the street and you will be well set. The continental breakfast was one of the worst I have encountered, however the coffee house on site was very nice and made up for it. The walk to the Shakespeare Festival, Lithia Park and area restaurants is easy. We signed in, and never used the car again until we checked out! The cable TV and wireless connections work well. If you want swanky, look elsewhere. If you want clean and convenient, this is it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the parking lot are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Dear Aquamom1

Thank you for your encouraging and wonderful comments regarding our team member’s friendliness and the cleanliness and design of your room.

We are pleased to know you had a comfortable stay with us.

I’m sorry to hear that our continental breakfast was not pleasurable. We are taking each review into consideration, to make the breakfast to fit every guest needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Walking distance to downtown theatre and restaurants. Basic complimentary breakfast, nice little coffee place attached. Right beside a Safeway with a surprisingly good wine selection! Our son appreciated the pool.
Not too fancy, but better than a mote; clean, with helpful staff.

Room Tip: .We opted for a larger unit with kitchenette after looking at the basic 2 bed room, definitely worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Dear Rockhoun,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad to read you had an enjoyable stay.

We take each review into consideration and are working on making the breakfast more enjoyable for our guest.

We look forward to your future visit.

Best Regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel is in a great location and is nice and quiet. You can walk to all of the downtown venues and there are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. However, the hotel is getting a bit worn around the edges and needs maintenance and some upgrades. The staff is always great.

The wi-fi is outstanding and I love the covered parking (if you can get one of the spots).

Room Tip: The quieter rooms overlook the rear parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Dear Dick D.,

On behalf of the team here at The Stratford Inn, I would like to say a personal thank you for taking the time to review our property. We greatly appreciate all the kind words and look forward to providing the same excellent service in the future.

We will be upgrading and renovating our rooms very soon in the future.

Please contact me for more assistance in the future with any of your reservations.

Sincerely,
Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was perfect. The biggest complaint was the night desk clerk (I did not have a chance to catch his name). We were fixing to end our evening and simply asked where could we find a bottle of water. He said he did not have and there and you have to go to the vending machine there is water there. Well after finally locating the vending machine come to find there was no water. Back at the front desk we asked for a bucket to get ice with. His response was look I am at front desk and we do not stockpile them here and was not willing to locate one for us. Everything else was great but that really killed the experience for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Jon H,

I appreciate the comments about breakfast and how clean and comfortable the room was.

My sincerest and deepest apologizes for the way our desk clerk has treated you. That is not the Startford Inn way, and this desk clerk will have serious repercussions for the way he treated you.

I want to let you know that we are truly sorry. I also want to invite you back to stay with us again. I will be the only one handling your reservation. Please let me know what I can do in light of this situation.

Please reach me at 541-488-2151. Or toll free at 800-547-4741

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We found the Stratford Inn on-line while planning our trip to the festival, the location was perfect. It was an easy walk to the plays and restaurants. The room was nice with kitchenette and large bathroom. The Staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the attached coffee shop, great coffee and gelato. We will definitely stay here again.

R Kilgore

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear R Kilgore,

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments about our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to write this review.

We look forward to having you and your family stays with us again.

Best Regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at your inn many tilmes in the past when visting the festival and were very happy with the facility and location. We decided after a number of years to return to Ashland for the festival and were very disappointed with the acommodations. The people at the inn were very helpful and courteous but-- the room was in desperate need of upgrading and repairs needed to be made: the air conditioner was extremely loud, the toilet was dripping all night, the lights between the 2 beds were not working, the bed needed a new matress (very uncomfortable-- I could feel the springs!)), and the bottom sheet looked like it has not been changed. I hope you will look into this. As I mentioned, we enjoyed our previous visits and would like to see these improvements made before we can again use your facility. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Mary G.

I’m sorry that your stay was less than enjoyable. I wanted to let you know that we have addressed all the issues you have mentioned in your review above.

I also want to state that both beds in your room were new mattress and they tend to be more on the firmer side. We also referred back to our housekeeping linen report for the day that you were schedule to check in, and we can report that the linens were indeed clean and changed.

We hope to show you and your family our improvements the next time you visit..

Sincerely,
Stratford Inn
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bard's Inn
Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
870 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Sherman St & Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing