We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice inn close to everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very nice inn close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here and I am still very satisfied with what I have got. The interior is very tastefully done to give an older English style decor and the rooms were also very comfortable and clean. The onsite Boulevard cafe provides breakfast and light lunches for good value. In terms of value, it is not as expensive as other places in the centre of town but don't expect to pay the sort of rates found with places along I-5. Hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Among its best attributes, it puts you within a 5-10 minute walk to the theatres and the shopping district of Ashland which saves one the trouble of finding a parking spot and the associated restrictions. Overall this would be a place I would place near the top of places I would choose to stay if my travels brought me to Shakespeare festival.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get yourself a covered parking spot. It can get very hot in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smrgeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi,

We just wanted to say thank you for your review. We really appreciate your business and supporting us on TripAdvisor. We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay in Ashland.

Hope to see you again soon,
Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    197
    70
    24
    12
See reviews for
215
158
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We've stayed here 3 times now, and have never been disappointed. This property is very well managed and staffed (the key to everything else, we think, and a rare find at a mid-range hotel). The rooms are consistently kept up: clean, not dilapidated, roomy, well priced, and about a ten to fifteen minute walk to the plays. We occasionally like the high-end B & B's near the theaters, when we feel we can afford them; but they're not as roomy, and nearly twice the price. For the most part, we like to put that extra money towards dining and better theater tickets, making Stratford our Inn of choice. Thank you to the staff and management!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi,

We just wanted to say thank you for your review. We really appreciate your business and supporting us on TripAdvisor. We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay in Ashland.

Hope to see you again soon,
Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I fly and take the bus into Ashland. Fortunately, they are within a block of where the bus stops. Even when I stayed somewhere else, they would hold my bags for me while I waited for the bus to come. With the comfortable rooms, free business center, free breakfast, and deli in the building, grocery store across the street, and proximity to downtown, there isn't much to need.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John_H12847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi,

We just wanted to say thank you for your review. We really appreciate your business and supporting us on TripAdvisor. We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay in Ashland.

Hope to see you again soon,
Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The beds were very comfortable!! The bathroom was very large and nicely appointed. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We required the ability to park our motorcycles where they could be viewed by staff from their video survelliance system in the covered parking - the staff reacted graciously with skill and experience to our request. The location was perfect, just a few blocks from everything. The rooms were large, no complaints! Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kbRT1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi,

We just wanted to say thank you for your review. We really appreciate your business and supporting us on TripAdvisor. We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay in Ashland.

Hope to see you again soon,
Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We have stayed at the Stratford while attending the Shakespeare festival. Central location just steps away from Safeway and a few blocks to the festival and downtown restaurants. The patio and pool are nice touches.

Room Tip: Rooms on the parking lot side are quieter than the ones streetside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi,

We just wanted to say thank you for your review. We really appreciate your business and supporting us on TripAdvisor. We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay in Ashland.

Hope to see you again soon,
Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We've been staying at the Stratford during our annual Ashland visit for many years. It's within easy walking distance to downtown and the plays, the rates are realistic, the service is always friendly and solicitous, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and they have both a fridge and a microwave. Parking is free, and there is a Safeway immediately across the street. The complimentary breakfast has been upgraded and is quite satisfactory, and there is a small coffee shop as well.
We look forward to the Stratford almost as much as the plays!

Room Tip: Try to get on the parking lot side--it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi,

We just wanted to say thank you for your review. We really appreciate your business and supporting us on TripAdvisor. We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay in Ashland.

Hope to see you again soon,
Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed at the Stratford in April, 2013 on my way too and from a film festival. As always, my rooms in this older hotel were sparkling clean and fresh. Front desk staff and housekeeping were cheerful, friendly, and always helpful, even when I was asking for something a little unusual, like a camera store.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
We just wanted to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your business and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks!

Stratford Inn, Ashland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Property: Stratford Inn
Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing