We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“great little spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I love that a great coffee shop is connected to the The Stratford.
The staff is friendly but they don't go out of their way...
They could use a concierge that is willing to get a little more detail for the guest
Still.. they are very nice and the hotel is clean and has a nice comp breakfast.
i would recommend it for a simple stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sansa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    197
    70
    24
    12
See reviews for
215
158
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This gathering was a Christmas gift that made wonderful memories for my daughters. Each drove several miles to meet at the Stafford Inn and were welcomed warmly. Thank you again for making it easy for me to pay ahead and for reminding me to email my permission to use the Visa card on file. This is something I had not even thought of doing......

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

What a great place to stay - close to conveniences and within walking distance to shops. We used the indoor pool and hot tub (which was not all chlorine smelling). Breakfast bar was generous. Rooms large and clean with comfortable beds and pillows. My family looks forward to staying with Stratford again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Richmond, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We love to go to Ashland when it's cold and there are no crowds. When we can, we stay at the Stratford. Our tradition dates back to the 1980's. The rooms have always been comfortable and reasonably priced for Ashland. We stay on the mountain side away from noise. It's quiet even when the window is open. Now there's a cafe that is very pleasant and well attended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LovelyLMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Enjoyed our room, the friendly service, the light breakfast, pool and hot tub. Everything was clean. The beds were a little uncomfortable...felt like it was tilting to one side, but I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My number one concern in any hotel is the bed. Unfortunately, our bed was so worn out, soft and mushy, we could not use it and used the fold-down Murphey bed in the living area instead. The hotel management had put a 4" foam pad on the top of the mattress - not sure if this was supposed to fix the fact that the bed is was too soft, or if they think it is a bonus.

Everything else was good - big room and living area with a full kitchen and a nice coffee-cafe on premises. Great location, and great price for a suite. I would stay again if they would invest in new, firm beds.

Room Tip: Ask if the bed is new or if it is covered with a foam pad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our goal at the Stratford Inn is to create a "home away from home" feel for all of our guests.

We deeply apologize for any discomfort your experienced during your visit. We have looked into the situation and will be replacing the mattress this winter.

We look forward to hosting your next trip to Ashland.

Regards,

Stratford Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Comfortable place, guest laundry is free except for detergent. But don't accept a room with a connecting door to the next room. Gap under the door is almost an inch high so what goes on in there is in your room too, and vice versa. Great, though, if you actually WANT to party with your neighbors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdebits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Property: Stratford Inn
Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing