We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five days in Ashland”
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Lacey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five days in Ashland”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a room on the third floor which we prefer - no one making noise over head. Breakfast was sufficient (just cereal and coffee is all we consume). Beds are comfortable, room had a desk for my laptop, access to town good, could walk to any venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    210
    75
    25
    10
See reviews for
224
172
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed here for four nights in May and it was great. The room (229) with two queen beds was large and spacious. Room was located away from the pool and eating area so it was very quiet other than hearing the stairwell door closing a lot. The room was clean and included a table and two comfy chairs, modern flat screen TV, free internet, and plenty of drawer and closet space. Water pressure in the shower was excellent.

The hotel has an onsite cafe on the 2nd floor that is open from 7 am to 7 pm with a nice selection of food and beverages.

The internet service was a bit sketchy in room but worked great sitting in the 2nd floor cafe. Alternatively, I used my personal hotspot when the cafe was closed.

Being located directly across the street from Safeway was so convenient for being able to pick up food and other items. The room (I think all) has a microwave and a good size refrigerator. I wish that there were plates and silverware in room too but was able to pick up from breakfast room each morning to bring back and use in my room.

I didn't eat the complimentary breakfast each morning due to a special needs diet but It appeared to have plenty of choices for everyone to be able to start day with a full belly.

The location of the hotel is excellent for those able to walk a couple of miles into and around town for shopping and going to theaters. Shopping begins within the first few blocks. The Shakespeare Theaters are approximately six blocks away. I shopped so much that I used the conveniently located US Post Office to mail packages home!

I was traveling without a car and meeting friends at another location in Ashland. Not realizing that taxi service in Ashland is not the best I was probably going to have to walk the 1.2 miles to the new location back and forth three times in order to carry all my bags (7.2 miles total!) when I asked about the possibility of a hotel shuttle with the front desk staff and was told there was not one available one of the women in the office offered to drive me and my luggage in her own car! That was service above and beyond . Thank you Ashley!!!

Overall a great stay and I would stay here again. Only reasons for less than five stars was unreliable internet and no security bar for large window (my room was located on street level).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We return with our students here every year and always have a perfect visit. I'll be coming back this summer with my family. The rooms are perfect and clean, it's convienient to all of Ashland and the staff is freindly and helpful. The coffee shop on site is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tony Rust M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stay here when going to OSF and t is only a few blocks walk to to several theaters. Having the coffee shop on site is a convenience for a quick lunch or dinner. I also like having a frig & microwave in the room so I can warm up my leftovers from an earlier meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PBLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Everyone at the Stratford was friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect for walking into town and the pool was great for the kids to get their wiggles out after a long day in the car. The rooms are modest but very clean, overall well worth the price for convenience and service!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ava P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poipu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had adjoining rooms with son and his family. Both coffee shop downstairs
and walking distance to downtown were wonderful. Jacuzzi and pool made
wonderful mornings for my 4 year old granddaughter and I.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AimlesslyMeandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping varied from day to day forgetting to replace stuff on some days and missing some of the cleaning. The breakfasts were poor, precooked scrambled eggs, sausage, and pancakes. Plus 1/2 banana, yogert, dry cereal, packaged oatmeal, and bread stuff every day. If you are avoiding wheat and sugar there isn't much variety in a week stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kinsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
778 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Property: Stratford Inn
Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing