We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our place while in Ashland”
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
San Anselmo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our place while in Ashland”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We love staying here--great location for walking to the Theaters. Clean quiet rooms, decent breakfast, added benefit of access to a work out facility within a mile, nice people. We come to Ashland every year, and always stay here, for convenience, cleanliness and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    207
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
221
172
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great trip. Wew had a great time. We met friendly guests at breakfast and were able to discuss the plays we attended. We were able to walk to the theater. We enjoyed swimming in the salt water pool. We were on a busy street but it was fine. The beds were soft but we were able to sleep fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank orange552015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great location, an easy walk to downtown and Shakespearean plays. The hotel itself is tired and worn, and the price paid is worth it for the location if you don't expect much else. The included breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The beds are old and not particularly comfortable. The pillows are foam - we had hoped for down pillows and comfy beds at the price we paid for the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here last week while participating in the Shakespeare Festival. Older rooms as noted by others but very friendly staff and just the right walking distance to make up for the sitting during the plays. Great big towels. Very Quiet Room - even ours that was facing the road. Good breakfast included with the room. Because the temps were high - mid 90's, we certainly appreciated being across the street from the Safeway store and room fridge to keep our purchases cool. Will stay again, next time in Ashland

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road also look onto the pretty trees and sidewalk which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I can only say good things about this place. The rooms (we stayed in 2 different ones for reasons too complex to explain here) and both were clean and modern with a small fridge and nicely appointed for a small hotel. The staff was super friendly - like most people in Ashland - as well as helpful.

The lower level rooms on the street side are somewhat below grade so the light is not great, but there isn't much to be done about it except asking for second floor rooms or a first floor room that faces the parking lot vs. the main street. It may not matter for most people, but if you like a bright room, you may be disappointed.

It was a little expensive at $200/night average for the 2 rooms (one a king room w/ oversized room and pull down murphy bed to sleep 4 total and the other a standard room with 2 queens) but it was high season and the whole town was booked so we were OK with the prices.

We read a lot of good things about the breakfast but it was the least appealing thing about the place. Its nice to have it included, but its a low end buffet (scrambled, sausage, potatoes) and cereal, toast, etc. fine for what it is but not something to rave about.

Location was actually great, a short walk to the main drag and across the street from Safeway which made it easy for supplies.

If you don't want to stay in a B&B or they are all booked up, this place is a fine option.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnny-XRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Loved the fluffy, clean white good-smelling towels.
This hotel is older - I've stayed often many years ago - so the rooms are a bit narrow, but we enjoyed it. Decorative pillows and foot fabric swatch are common in many hotels, but always just a "nuisance" to pull off the bed. These are silly criticisms. We loved our stay. Thanks for being wheelchair accessible.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Average value, but newer linens and towels. Room very clean. Hotel is 60's in the hallways, but they are doing a good job updating rooms. Cafe is nice, seems local neighborhood uses it too as it is new.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Property: Stratford Inn
Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing