We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

This was my 3rd time visiting the Oregon Shakespeare Festival but first time at the Stratford Inn. I probably won't return as the Inn really isn't anything special. When my husband and I arrived we checked into our room and were immediately dissappointed as it appeared we had been booked into a room for someone with a handicap or disability that may need wheel chair access. We don't require such accomodations at this time. My husband enjoys taking a bath rather than a shower, yet our room had only an institutional looking shower. I also realized that we had been placed on the first floor and our window faced the busy street. We went to the desk and requested a new room which we were given. It had it's problems too though because it was on the 3rd floor above the coffee shop!!! At 6:30AM the music could be heard booming below!!!! Every morning was the same thing. Another dissappointmet was the pool. Very small, indoor pool and walking into the pool room was just stifling. One day we recieved no maid service and we had to call several times to get some smaller pillows for the bed. This Inn would be perfect for someone with kids or someone who is not looking for anything special, unfortunantly, not what we had expected.

Helpful?
3 Thank purrrking68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    203
    71
    24
    12
See reviews for
220
163
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

The staff has a "can do" attitude and always seems eager to please.

The location is within easy walking distance of the Shakespeare Festival, but avoids the crowded feeling of downtown. The close proximity to a market (Safeway) allows visitors to "eat in" and save money on dining.

One of the best features is the breakfast available in the common area.

The Stratford Inn is often used by tours originating in the San Francisco Bay Area, therefore room availability is sometimes limited.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelsBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

I'm sorry to say that our recent stay at the Stratford was very disappointing. We've stayed there many times and always liked it because of its location even though the room rate is awfully high for the not-so-special accommodations. This time, we had a room that needed maintenance for both a broken shower head and a fading battery in the smoke alarm (annoying beeps). We also had a terrible time getting the housekeepers into the room for cleaning. Our sign for maid service was on the door knob for six and a half hours while we were out and we returned to an unserviced room. This was after telling the front desk at 8 a.m. that we would like the cleaning crew in since we were out for the morning...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellin_mom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest Park, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

I don't know why I've never written a review of the Stratford Inn. I've stayed there many times over the years. I've been attending the Shakespeare Festival nearly every year for something around 40 years. I've stayed in many places in the area...some terrific...some not so terrific. But the Stratford Inn is reliable. If you stay there you know you'll have a clean, comfortable room. You know you'll get a decent breakfast in the morning. You know that there will be a nice pool and spa available. You know you'll be close to downtown Ashland and the theatres. You know that good restaurants will be within walking distance. You know you'll have a good, safe place to park your car. You know if you get hungry at odd hours, or need a newspaper, there's a Safeway nearby. If you need a cup of coffee anytime day or night, you'll find one in the breakfast room. You know there'll be a computer available to check email and find a new restaurant. If you know anything about Ashland, Oregon, you know that it is a small, southern Oregon town whose claim to fame is the Shakespeare Festival...and of course it is one of the most beautiful places around scenery-wise. But you'll also know that the Festival pulls people in from around the world, the U.S. and certainly from the West Coast in droves. That means it's resources are frequently strained to the max and the chances of getting into luxurious accommodations require that you book a year ahead without knowing what the next year's plays will be. That's fine if you're coming to Ashland for luxury...if you're coming for the plays...not so good. So finding a well-located, clean hotel with all the little things that make your stay pleasurable is no mean feat most of the year. For all those reasons, I highly recommend The Stratford Inn. And do enjoy everything else Ashland has to offer, including cabaret theatre. If you love good theatre, good food, good wine, one of the best little bookshops around and spectacular scenery you won't be disappointed. Check out the Peter Britt Music Festival in nearby Jacksonville, too.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sejcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

My stay was satisfactory, and I will probably stay there again. The best thing is the location and the view of the moutains from the 3rd floor rear rooms. The room was ordinary, but clean and equipped with a microwave and refrigerator. The continental breakfast did not have as much variety as the midpriced chain motels, but this hotel is right across the street from Safeway so you can get your own fruit, miffins etc if you don't like the hotel's breakfast selection. The indoor pool was pretty small, but clearly the kids loved it. Hotel has large louge/breakfast room that would be nice in bad weather. The hotel is not cheap but Ashland is expensive place to visit.. If you are trying to save money, stay in Medford -- its a 15 minute drive and the motels are more reasonable.

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — breakfast selection
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aDCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2008

In most respects -- the rooms, decor, breakfast, views -- this hotel is mediocre, not especially good or bad. But the location, on the edge of "downtown" a few blocks from the OSF, is great --considering the price, and keeping in mind that Ashland is generally overpriced.

Our room on the third floor had a view of the hills -- and of the parking lot. It was not cramped, but the very low ceiling gave it a mildly claustrophobic feel. The breakfast room/lounge on the second floor is pleasant enough, but the breakfast (cereal, bagels, English muffins) is not high quality. The staff was friendly and seemed to make an effort.

Overall we were content with the hotel, if not really enthusiastic, and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Macrodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

We were looking forward to a little luxury in Ashland. The Stratford Inn is very average and at a price of $170.00 per night very disappointing. To add to that, I fell in the shower because it was slippery. The resistance strips were worn away and there was no bath mat. I am a healthy 53 year old. If this had happenned to an older person, it could have been devastating. When my daughter and I approached the front desk clerk about it, she seemed unconcerned and I had to insist upon filling out an incident report. I have heard nothing from the management about my accident. We stayed only one night, moved to the Plaza Inn and Suites. For $30 more a night, we had a very nice room, evening wine and cheese, midnight cookies and milk, and a very lovely continental breakfast.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — falling down in the shower
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank cmoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Property: Stratford Inn
Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing