We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple with Value”
Review of The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palm
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Benicia, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple with Value”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I randomly came across The Palm when having to arrange a short stay in Ashland. The idea of cottages and the appealing pallet and design caught on website photos combined with low price drew me in. The reception I received from Kellie was exceptional - friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was tasteful, very clean, had several extras that you wouldn't expect in a "cottage"-offering establishment. I didn't use their available amenities but everything about my stay was pleasant and comfortable (especially warm quilt at the bottom of the bed.) Not extraordinarily fancy, but there is great value in simplicity that has class.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    80
    16
    15
    11
See reviews for
53
155
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed at the Palm in January, and it was bitter cold out. the room (classic queen) was warm, functional, the hot water thankfully plentiful. no pretensions but clean surfaces, friendly staff, and very good coffee available in the office. great location for visiting Ashland.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthcrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I love the old places, which this in. They are a very green, conscientious place with salt water swimming pool. Lovely stay and I will be back. Their sister-hotel is the Columbia downtown. Although the walls are thin here and it is up to each unit to control themselves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orick, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I really appreciate the aesthetic of this hotel. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and beautiful. The prices are very reasonable and the staff are friendly. There are gardens that are lovely, but it was raining during my stay so I couldn't enjoy them. I'll certainly stay here again. My one request for the future, get some real cream for the coffee. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Lovely service, very pleasant stay, great location, cozy room, friendly and helpful staff! No real complaints except the shower curtain was moldy, and the shower spray was both too light and painful, if you can imagine that unlikely combo! Shower gel rather than soap bars for the bathroom would also be really nice. Other than that, I really enjoyed my visit and would try it again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtour2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed at The Palm on our way to Portland and have found a new home away from home. The staff was so welcoming, and the property is gorgeous. We were traveling with our dog, and the hotel's location across from a college campus was the perfect spot to walk.

The room we stayed in had two queen size beds and a wonderful old green leather chair and ottoman. The eclectic furnishings are coupled with great amenities like a kitchenette with dishes, silverware, coffee maker and coffee, and teas. We sat at the '50's table and chairs looking out at the hills eating our dinner from the amazing grocery store a couple of blocks away called Market of Choice. Look out Whole Foods, this is a full service market with gourmet prepared foods, wine, etc., and even had gluten free options. Breakfast was a breeze, then back out to the campus for another walk among the fall colors.

Oh, and the previous comment about the heaters/AC units is true. They are unbelievably quiet. All hotels should buy them. It makes a HUGE difference. And the strategically placed fountains throughout the property help mitigate any road noise.

We will be back, for sure, and thanks to the management for their thoughtfulness and customer service. It was above and beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: All rooms seem like good options. We were at the back, which worked well for us with our dog, and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
403 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I love the Palm. The gardens are beautiful, the staff and owners friendly and pleasant, the place charming and the location great. However, some rooms are a bit shabby. Maybe it's just the dog friendly room, but that room could do with an overhall. The carpet is old and stained and the place just has a tired look. The addition of a small fridge would be a plus. My other criticism is the $25 charge to use the cabana at the pool. Some Las Vegas hotels charge for private cabanas at their massive pool areas but come on - this is Ashland! There wasn't a soul even at the pool the day I was there. However, the Palm is still a nice place and you can't help but love it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
1.0 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm

Property: The Palm
Address: 1065 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ashland
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside of the ordinary. Guests enjoy award-winning gardens, mature trees, and lawn seating areas that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. Cottage-style guest rooms and sumptuous fireplace suites available. In summer and fall, you'll enjoy an inviting new pool concept complete with private cabanas, and soothing water features. Guests enjoy flat-screen TVs and both complimentary wireless internet and parking. Conveniently located across from the university. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Hotel Ashland
Palm Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing