We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and comfortable”
Review of The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palm
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent and comfortable”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Although it was not inexpensive, it was worth it! The property is a beautifully restored older highway cottage/motel. Despite being on the main road, the rooms are quiet and the place relaxing and beautiful. The pool is small, but excellent. The kitchenette has everything you would need short of preparing a full course meal. Staff could not have been more helpful and the grounds and rooms are beautiful. Walking distance to the festival if you're a walker (15 minutes.) The cottages & property are decorated in the manner of a high end hotel, with the chram of a small cottage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modesty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    81
    16
    15
    11
See reviews for
55
157
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If I am going to Ashland during the hot summer time, I always stay here. I would prefer an experience that is not "cookie cutter" when I travel. Since the last time I stayed, they updated the pool area and I rented a poolside cabana for 1 day of my stay to have the whole "updated" pool experience. The rooms are super clean, updated without losing the old motor inn feel, and have all the basic amenities. The real reason to stay here is that the grounds are beautiful, have lovely grassy areas with seating and a small but beautiful pool area. Everything is kept up very well and staff are very helpful and friendly. On the down side, this place is no bargain. You are paying top dollar for the charm and location, however everything in Ashland is expensive in the summer and this place is priced accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATourist6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a small property with cottage style rooms. Some of the room was renovated and some was older in style. There was a kitchenette in our room that was older but nice for a small breakfast or snack. The price seemed a bit high for the quality of the room, but the service is excellent. There is a beautiful pool, but lounge chairs are in short supply because all the cabanas are reservation only. We were in a room at the back of the property and it was very quiet. Other guests complained that there was more noise in their rooms. We were there for a reunion and had 3 rooms booked for our group.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back 5 through 9 are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the king room in the newer addition and were very comfortable with the room and the amenities. The room was large, well appointed with everything we needed to make our vacation just what we needed. The kitchenette was adequate for us as we did not plan on doing any cooking. Bed was very comfortable, air conditioning unit was silent, bathroom towels and bathrobes perfect. We needed to stay one night in the original motor court rooms, while the room was vintage, it was not as comfortable or as well appointed.
The grounds of the Palm are spectacular, many shady areas to sit with a book and a glass of wine. The pool is wonderful and if you have the time, springing for a cabana is well worth it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived very late, left in the morning but it was enough time for the Palm to make a good impression. Jonathon was waiting for us with a smile. The room was charming, spotless, the bed comfotable and quiet. We took the time to sit on the gardens for half an hour and felt recharged.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kin206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Palm is a wonderful, individualistic, hotel/inn, a refreshing welcome from the "chain hotels". Room 0, where I overnighted, is a cute and quaint little room and was perfect for one person. Bed was comfortable, bathroom nicely furnished. Small chest of drawers, no desktop as the room is really too small for both. I was able to use my laptop on the nice little garden table outside my front door, which worked perfectly in the good weather. Lovely gardens, and flowers grow in profusion all around. Front Desk staff are all very kind and knowledgeable about the area, and even the cleaning staff made a point of smiling and saying hello when they walked past. I will certainly stay at the Palm again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo and want the least expensive room, ask for "Room 0". Double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed this motel. I think the people who have written other reviews haven't travelled as much or at least haven't experienced other places . I have stayed at The Ashland Springs hotel before as well but The Palm is much nicer in my opinion. We were only here for one night as weary travelers but slept fantastic. We had the two room suite and it was very roomy. The a/c kept the smoke from outside from getting into the room. Staff is very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayleeocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.2 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
1.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
1.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm

Property: The Palm
Address: 1065 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ashland
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside of the ordinary. Guests enjoy award-winning gardens, mature trees, and lawn seating areas that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. Cottage-style guest rooms and sumptuous fireplace suites available. In summer and fall, you'll enjoy an inviting new pool concept complete with private cabanas, and soothing water features. Guests enjoy flat-screen TVs and both complimentary wireless internet and parking. Conveniently located across from the university. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Hotel Ashland
Palm Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing