We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and relaxing”
Review of The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palm
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This small motor court has been redone with really exquisite landscaping. It is a very relaxing atmosphere. There's a Salt Water Swimming Pool, which was great, don't miss it. The staff was helpful and fawned over our Dog, which always scores points. The furnishing in the rooms were nice- there was careful attention to details. The kitchette was the best on our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Delightfully surprised when I entered the corner room. A fully supplied kitchenette, small fridge, microwave, herbal teas, artsy dishes and curtains sweet. Then the bed. Just right with a modern cover and oodles of pillows. A bathroom clean, thick towels, small tub, but a tub nonetheless. Heat I could control.

I loved how close to town, yet a little bit out. And the staff, everyone - down to the lovely woman cleaning in the morning - kind, warm and intelligent. Big thank you to the Palm! Elisa from an island in Maine

Room Tip: I loved the corner room with kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you stay at enough hotels/motels, you will encounter the noble attempts by some innkeepers to turn a sow's ear into a silk purse, without really being able to expunge the inner sowness of the place, short of demolition and starting from scratch. Such is the case with the Palm Cottages (Motel). You first clue is the high restrictive cancellation policy and required deposit. Your second clue is that when you arrive, the sign says, "Palm Motel". And that's exactly what it is. The rooms are tiny, the amenities are few (especially for the room rate) and the walls separating the rooms are flimsy. If you have noisy, inconsiderate neighbors (we did one night) you will not sleep well and will have to hear things you would just as soon not .

On the plus side, the innkeepers are friendly and helpful and the pool and environs are not bad. If that could only mitigate against the flaws of this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inventure, General Manager at The Palm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

William, thank you for your review. We have something for everyone, from small more budget-conscious rooms to truly sumptuous suites. We would recommend that you try upgrading to one of our more spacious rooms for your next stay. Many of our rooms are 400 sq. feet or larger and suites are available with breakfast areas, soaking tubs, hardwood floors, private patios, fireplaces, kingsize heavenly beds, large flat-screen TVs, as well as other elegant touches. Our heated salt-water pool features private cabanas, three large fountains, expansive sundeck and an outdoor fitpit ideal for cool evenings after a long day of refreshing swimming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

During a recent trip to see plays at the Shakespeare Festival, my husband and I had expected to stay, as usual, at the Ashland Springs Hotel, but they had no availability. Based on the Tripadvisor ratings we gave the Palm Cottages a try. What good luck! While a bit further from the festival, it is a charmingly renovated motel with pretty grounds and a new pool. Very private and comfortable. Rooms are squeaky clean and nicely appointed. We had a kitchenette so we were able to have a few meals in our room. The management is wonderful--very friendly and accommodating.
We had such a great experience that the Palm is now our first choice for lodgings in Ashland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here at the end of July and absolutely loved this place! Unfortunately, because of the fires, we had to cut our stay short, but we will back and we will definitely stay here.
The property is a beautifully restored old (50's) cottage/motel. The rooms are clean, updated as needed, quiet, and the place is very relaxing, with a nice garden that was right outside our room, very peaceful and beautiful. They have a pool but we did not use it. The kitchenette in the room has everything you need. Staff was nice, pleasant and very helpful. It is within walking distance to the main shops and the festival. A very quaint and charming place with character that you just don't get from those big, modern hotels.

Room Tip: The corner rooms near the garden are nice because the garden is right outside, and makes a perfect h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyFx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I recently made reservations and The Columbia was booked for one of my two nights so they suggested staying in their sister property the Palm. It was more expensive but I thought it would be fine based on the reviews and also because it could be transferred back to The Columbia if a room opened-- eliminating the need to change hotels each day.

Yes, they immediately take the nightly charge from your credit card. But when the air quality in Ashland due to fires necessitated me changing my plans. They not only took the $25 processing fee to cancel my one night at the Columbia but also from The Palm reservation so it cost me $50 to cancel my trip which was booked as one reservation because they "counted it as two rooms".

Customer service sharks!

Cancellation Policy: Your deposit confirms your reservation. Should your plans change and you need to cancel or shorten your stay, you will want to let us know at least 2 weeks in advance. With sufficient notice, we can refund your deposit, or change your reservation, for a $25.00 processing fee per room. In the unlikely event that a reservation is cancelled giving us less than 2 weeks notice, the hotel retains the deposit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
10  Thank Caryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inventure, General Manager at The Palm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for allowing us to address your concern. We understand that you never stayed with us, and we hope that you do return and try us in the future. Due to the air quality, we did of course waive all cancellation fees for any smoke related cancellation the week of the fire. When we refunded your credit card the deposits you had paid, it was less a small processing fee to cover the banking and credit fees associated with accepting your reservations and then refunding them. The real winners are Visa, MasterCard, and the merchant banks that act as middlemen in the transactions. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great place with beautiful gardens and comfy..not overly done rooms. Well suited for relaxation between OSF plays. I don't see the value of pricey cabanas by the pool, but some may prefer. At least the pool can be enjoyed by anyone, at no cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcw946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
1.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
696 reviews
12.8 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm

Address: 1065 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ashland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range: £58 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside of the ordinary. Guests enjoy award-winning gardens, mature trees, and lawn seating areas that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. Cottage-style guest rooms and sumptuous fireplace suites available. In summer and fall, you'll enjoy an inviting new pool concept complete with private cabanas, and soothing water features. Guests enjoy flat-screen TVs and both complimentary wireless internet and parking. Conveniently located across from the university. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Hotel Ashland
Palm Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing