We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Econo - Says it all”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Econo - Says it all”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed at the Econolodge over the Memorial day weekend to hang out in Ashland and Talent with Family. Don't expect too much as some have said on this site. We have stayed in many motels in Ashland and this one is ok.
- Clean room and comfortable bed.
- Very nice staff.
- Internet worked well
- Bathroom is very small. If you are a large person you may not be able to close the door, not kidding here. Shower water flow was very subpar. A lady with a lot of hair would be challenged to rinse her hair.
- Breakfast was ok. Only one waffle iron caused a >10min wait on Sunday (my wife was a bit pissed). Other items are pretty minimal.
I would stay here again because my daughter lives in Talent 2 miles away and the room was ok priced.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the back side, I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abelincoln1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    56
    22
    16
    15
See reviews for
42
46
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Clean and comfortable. No frills, but everything you really need. And very, very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

It pains me to write this review knowing that once the rest of the world finds out about this lovely little hotel, it will always be full. This is my favorite cheap hotel on the planet and they deserve all the praise they get.

My friends and I having been coming to Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival for around 15 years. During that time we've stayed at many of the local hotels which can run $150+ per night. Yes, they are more elegant or have a snazzy name, but since finding this Econo Lodge I've never looked back.

Large, clean rooms with fresh sheets. Friendly employees that go out of their way for you. A parking lot with pull through spots for trucks with trailers, fresh breakfast, dog-friendly, non-smoking. They also happened to be a short jog away from one of the finest running trails in Ashland. You won't find anything better anywhere for $50 per night.

TIP: Joint the Choice Rewards program and look for their triple bonus specials to earn yourself a free room fast.

TIP #2: Use your free room in the summer when rates are highest.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aktalittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Point, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The room was clean, and comfortable. good heating system since it was really cold outside. On the negative side, the bathroom was small, enough room for 1-person, and if the person was on the large size, the room is even smaller.. Another negative was that you had to go outside to get to the breakfast area, if it's rainy or/and cold it can be a small challenge. It's close to fast food places, and only a mile or so from the main town. The room we had was on the freeway side, but the room was still comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor and closer to the office, this would cut down the distance to the morning b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

A return visit for me, and still pleasant.

This time, the overnight stop on a longer trip. The rate was again quite reasonable, the room was clean and in excellent repair.

The only (small) problem with this place isn't the proprietor's fault. Access can be a bit confusing, and leaving in the morning means trying to deal with rush-hour traffic that keeps coming without any breaks. A very small "beef" in an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horizonbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This motel was clean, quiet, and equiped with the usual micro and fridge. The bed was comfortable with good pillows. Towels were so-so. Breakfast was on the lite side. Our main concern was the distance from the city and restaurants. If you want an early start in the morning it's on the south edge of town right on the I-5.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussy10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Booked this place on very short notice for a 3 night stay after an unexpected change in travel plans. Conveniently located at the ! 5 exit for Ashland and only about 3 miles from the center of town. The place was quiet, clean and comfortable with free wi fi, a continental breakfast, comfortable king bed and nice bath facilities. Sure, it's an economy hotel chain, but if all you're going to do is sleep in the room, what more do you need? We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frenchguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
4.7 mi away
Ashland Rodeway Inn
Ashland Rodeway Inn
#13 of 19 in Ashland
88 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
4.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ashland
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 50 Lowe Rd, Ashland, OR 97520-9387
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ashland
Ashland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing