We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice of an average roadside motel”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Karatu, Tanzania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good choice of an average roadside motel”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We chose this place for one reason ~ price. Based on previous TA reviews we thought it would be ok. It was absolutely fine. We needed a clean, decent overnight option on a long road trip (Ashland is located halfway between Portland, OR and the Bay Area, CA). That's what we got. No frills. This place is what it is, a 1970's (or thereabouts) era roadside motel- super convenient to the freeway. Our experience at this average place was excellent. Yes, the bathrooms are tiny. Our rooms (we used two for three adults and two children) were very clean, no smoke smell, decent beds, normal American TV, excellent wireless. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is located in a building in the parking lot that looks like one of those temporary school classrooms. They do allow camping in a part of the parking lot and some poor bloke had the unpleasant job of keeping the campers out of the breakfast room, I felt sorry for him! It was pretty crowded but the food is the purpose, not the ambiance and it was ok to get the day started- fresh fruit, cereal etc. We didn't use the pool but it looked just fine. We arrived, rested, went to dinner and a play, returned late, slept and took off early. It's not a cute B&B or upmarket hotel but it works fine for a quick off the freeway stop at a low price point.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auroraafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    54
    21
    16
    14
See reviews for
41
44
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san mateo, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Never heard of the chain, Econo Lodge, but for a quick in and out overnight, this was really a pefect spot. Perfectly clean,friendly and accommodating staff and obviously management that wants you to return as a customer. I was very pleasantly surprised and would definitely recommend this spot seconds off I-5. Great value if you're just looking for an overnight spot.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Peaks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I booked this property for a one night stop after reading recent positive reviews. Upon arrival, we noticed a motor home with a lot of people in it in the parking lot. It appeared they were living in the parking lot. I waited in the lobby for fifteen minutes before someone came to check me in. It is close to the highway, and I had safety concerns of break ins, due to the unsavory people hanging around the lot. I liked the parking in front of your room, but we heard car doors all night. The door to he room barely latched, and you could see an opening around the door which let in a herd of Mosquitos we fought off all night. The sheets smelled clean, but had dark stains on them in questionable areas, as did the pillowcases. I had to work, the Internet was actually working well. I had to call for a chair replacement due to it sinking when you sat in it. A replacement was taken from the room next door, and had more questionable stains on the seat. We only had three thin towels, also with random stains, which one went over the chair. My socks were filthy after walking on the carpet. One thin blanket, we fought over it on a thin, old, worn out mattress all night. We got no sleep, as it was impossible to find a comfortable spot to sleep on. My daughter also did not sleep well, and she can usually sleep anywhere. There were doors slamming all night, and way too much light in the room. People were leaving at first light, I assume due to horrid sleep. Also, if you step into the bathroom, you have to wedge yourself into the corner to close the door. Shower was dated, crusty, and had old glass doors I didn't consider safe with my daughter. This property should never have been listed as a choice hotel. We travel quite a bit, and this is the first time I have ever had an issue I have had to write about. The place in whole gave me the creeps.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseUrbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ashland hotels

West Linn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

If you're in Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival or just need one night, the Econo Lodge on Lowe Road is outstanding. In Ashland there are lots of places requiring a 2- night minimum stay.
We spent one night at the Econo Lodge for another splendid dinner at New Sammy's Cowboy Bistro, which is just 2 min. away. The motel is clean and quiet, despite proximity to freeway. Breakfast is included and their Belgian waffles are worth the effort of making them fresh on their waffle iron. Owners working hard at keeping the place looking nice. Reasonable rates are also due to only 1% tax (vs. 8% in Ashland).
Added bonus: The Oregon Welcome Center is right on site.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

With a few easy fixes in the motel this could be a 5 star rating. The hotel is located at the northern exit to Ashland separated by a field from the Burger King. It is near the freeway but very quiet. There is a small, heated pool in the back. It is a 7 minute drive into downtown Ashland and Lithia Square. The staff are friendly and the room was clean. Since you are actually in Jackson County unincorporated land the 10% Ashland hotel tax doesn't apply here. Breakfast is located in a separate building in the parking lot. The bathroom was tiny and probably an overweight person would have trouble using it. We compared with the less expensive Rodeway Inn at the other Ashland exit and I think this was a better choice. $190 for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend, senior rate.

Room Tip: Second story rooms away from the parking lot have a nice view over the pool and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bassman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was the second time I overnighted at Ashland's Econo Lodge. It's super easy to find, right of I-5. Rather a long check-in procedure, but friendly service. Our room was clean and comfortable. Great to have free high-speed WiFi Internet. We also enjoyed the waffles for breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaCasanaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The motel is a great place to stay at a bargain price. It's immaculate, well-kept up, with friendly staff, good service, and great breakfast included. Located on the outskirts of Ashland, my top floor room looked out on empty fields with a view of the mountains– providing just the peace and quiet I needed after a full day driving. Next time I stay, I'm going to try the pool!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
4.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ashland Rodeway Inn
Ashland Rodeway Inn
#13 of 19 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
2.9 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 50 Lowe Rd, Ashland, OR 97520-9387
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ashland
Ashland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing