We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, comfortable, gorgeous house.”
Review of Ashland Hostel

Ashland Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashland Hostel
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, gorgeous house.”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I stayed there one night on my way through Ashland. I had lived in Ashland and had driven by the hostel and wasn't impressed but I'm so glad I ended up staying there. The place is gorgeous inside, one of the most beautiful houses I've stayed in. It was my birthday too. The rest of my short stay I stayed at a friend's home.
I have travelled for business so much that I never make reservations. I prefer to see first-hand if the hotel is safe, secure, etc. before I plunk my money down.
I think the price was aprox $25 or $27 per night. The manager leaves in the evening so we had the house to ourselves. It was nice going to the comfy livingroom and reading before bed. It's a beautiful place. Parking was limited in the back area and there are stairs from the parking area to the back door kitchen and also stairs to the dorm rooms. They have a couple private rooms which I got to see, a couple downstairs and a couple upstairs, all really nice. Everything is cute cute cute. Some children stayed there also. The manager was really nice. I made tea in the morning, nice kitchen. Checkout was 10am which is a bit early - would have liked to stay and enjoy the place longer. Sweet place, don't miss it if you visit Ashland!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heckynoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
8
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Marilyn, the owner of the hostel, worked with me to find suitable accommodations for my 2-week-long program for high-school-aged teens. She provided two excellent dorm rooms plus a room for my staff and gave us the downstairs common area to ourselves. When I had last-minute changes in my group or schedule, she was always happy to accommodate. The kitchen met our needs and the other guests were never a problem. I highly recommend the Ashland Hostel as an affordable option for all guests and school groups spending time in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blakeboles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Spent a pleasant evening here while on the road north. Cleanest hostel I have been too, though it was the offseason and not busy. Would not think twice about recommending it to any one.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingNINJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara,CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I have stayed in many hostels in Europe, and although 72, I can survive in most any conditions when I'd rather spend my money on adventure, but definitely enjoy a few niceties and comforts. I don't feel comfortable when there are service people whose livelihoods depend on changing my sheets every day and putting chocolates on my pillow. But this wonderful Ashland Hostel had an incredible kitchen and was more comfortable, clean, quiet and friendly than any expensive accomodations I have ever had. The management was helpful in every way, from bandaid for my blister to specific directions to everything I needed.
I certainly hope many more will avail themselves of this pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsybdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Bay Area
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

I've stayed a couple of times. The house itself is attractive, especially the common areas. However, the manager lives there and has really taken over the common areas. It felt like I was putting him out each time I stayed, and that he'd rather have the place to himself.

Hostels I've stayed at in Portland and San Diego have much friendlier vibes.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footloosewomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2009

The Ashland Hostel is centrally located and all around a fabulous deal. The service was outstanding - friendly, generous, and not overbearing. They went out of their way to orient me, transport me, and make my stay pleasurable. The place itself is tasteful, clean, and very comfortable. One night fifty teenagers arrived for the Shakespeare Festival, and yet it was so well-managed, that I still slept soundly and wasn't in the least perturbed. I felt lucky to have chosen it!

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AJeanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This hostel was very nice - different from many that I've stayed in. It has a very home like atmosphere so I imagine it might be a good hostel for people who are trying hosteling for the first time. The staff was very nice and everything was clean and well kept. The bathroom situation was a bit strange - there was a room with a toilet in a stall and 2 stall showers- If not for the 2 shower stalls I would assume it was a single user bath, but the extra shower and stall toilet made it seem more public. Not an issue when I was there, but if it was crowded it could be. My only complaint was that my private room was very cold - especially after sitting in the cold for 3 hours at the Shakespeare festival. Otherwise a lovely spot and very close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.7 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
670 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hostel

Property: Ashland Hostel
Address: 150 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1730
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Ashland
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ashland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashland Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing