We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but charming!”
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small but charming!”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Our room was lovely, although tiny, with period furnishings, handmade soaps, fresh flowers, and an in-room sink. Temperature was uncomfortably hot - too much for the window air conditioner to handle. Separate, lovely rooms down the hall had showers and tubs, all kept spotlessly clean. Staff was very welcoming, helpful, and personable. Coffee/tea throughout the day, a comfy lobby for reading and relaxing to music, and (limited!) central fridge space were nice touches. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Specify your desired distance from the lobby and entry stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    85
    15
    16
    8
See reviews for
65
101
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I've been staying at the Columbia for a couple decades now and I always love it. It's relatively inexpensive compared to anywhere else and the location is unbeatable. It's right in the heart of town, a five minute walk to the theatres and restaurants. I stick with the Queen or double beds and common bathroom. I'm a cheapo and have no need to pay extra for private bath but if I was to splurge on that I would still stay at the Columbia as it just has a friendly comfortable feel. Guests who stay there are usually friendly and sociable too and I've had some great conversations in the common room with total strangers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The was a lovely European-style hotel to stay at while attending the theater, only a block and a half away. It was nice to come back for a hot cup of tea after the evening performance. I didn't mind the restrooms and shower at the end of the hall while having a small sink in my room. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. On my future visit to Ashland, the Columbia Hotel is where I will be staying.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNP-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Columbia on several occasions. This dated "European" style hotel, has a very nice atmosphere with classical music in the front lounge area and no TV's or phones in rooms that makes one feel that they are away on a real break from every day living. For years the price of the Columbia has been lower than the rest of Ashland, so putting up with some inconviences, like having to walk down the hall to a shared bathroom was OK. The last couple of visits we have chosen to pay more to have one of the few rooms that has it's own private bath. I am sorry to say we will not be staying at the Columbia again, since our room was over $214.00 per night, which we felt was pretty high even for Ashland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This place is perfect is you are going to the theater, like old-fashioned fixtures and artwork, and are happy to forgo a television and in-room bathroom. It is very much like a European B&B (minus the second B)--cozy, nice furnishings, and a comfortable retreat after a long day.

The staff were all friendly and professional. Despite the central location, the hotel was generally very quiet, helping me to get a good night's sleep the entire time I was there. I had a delightful time here, and am almost hesitant to give a rave review, because I want to keep it my little secret!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenmanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton,BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I have been going to the Columbia Hotel for more than 20 years,including two times with theatre groups from BC,Canada. The location,hospitality and European feel keep me coming back. The interior is always carefully maintained.The surrounding blocks also provide great shopping and dining.It is sheer delight to walk the few minutes from hotel to the wonderful Oregon Shakespeare Festival theatres..

Room Tip: I especially enjoy the rooms at the front when sharing with others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I have been going to Ashland every year for many years to see the Oregon Shakespeare Festival plays. I have tried various lodgings but for the last 10 years at least, always stay at the Columbia Hotel. It is located in an older building with a European feel, unpretentious but carefully decorated, with comfortable individualized rooms to suit couples, friends or families. No TV but wireless internet and loaner laptops to use. Some rooms have ensuite bathrooms, the others all have washbasins in them. There are shared showers and bathrooms down the halls. The hotel is just steps from the theatres and all the shops and restaurants of downtown so once you are there, there's no need to use your car again until you leave. The shared lounge area has books, local restaurant menus, the NYTimes every day, and freshly made coffee (or hot water for tea) every morning. There are always other interesting people staying with whom you can discuss the plays or pick up a recommendation to a local shop or restaurant. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the owners continue to make improvements every year. Good value.

Room Tip: There can be some street noise in rooms facing east, but each room is individual. Book early for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Property: Columbia Hotel
Address: 262 1/2 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1894
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ashland
#7 Family Hotel in Ashland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#8 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing