We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, old fashioned.”
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is not the hotel for everyone. No tv's not all rooms have private baths (they do have a sink). AND the location is great, the people lovely and there is a sense of community as people gather around the couches to talk.
Think upscale hostel for adults. Great for groups of friends.
I've been staying at the Columbia for 30 years - and am returning next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcvittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Columbia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Columbia works well for a certain type of traveler. It worked well for us. It works even better for hostelers and those used to the quirkiness of B&Bs in Europe.

The down sides:

You have to ask about the various room types. Only a couple have a toilet and shower or bath in the room. In most you have to use a shared toilet and shower. We stayed in a room with a toilet and shower and paid a little more as a result. You have to recognize that there are limited amenities. There is no TV and the rooms are small enough that furnishings are minimal - no desk to work at. If you are a clothes horse, there are a couple of rooms with closets, but they mostly don't have bathrooms. Maybe a sink. Our room had no closets and only a few hooks, so we lived out of our suitcases - not bad for only 2 nights, but an inconvenience if you want some clothes hung up. No breakfast outside of tea and coffee, so factor that into the price you save. If you usually take advantage of free breakfasts, you will end up spending an extra $15 per person or so at the few restaurants in town that serve breakfast. If you have a room that opens to the common sitting area off the lobby, you will hear people talking who are using the sitting room to relax after a show, or who get up early to talk over coffee. There are many steps either front or back, so you have to be pretty able bodied to get up and down. We were there in the fall, so air conditioning was not an issue, but check for a room that has AC if you are coming in summer. Parking is very limited and you will likely have to park in the street. It can be difficult to find unrestricted street parking. There is a lot less than 2 blocks away that costs $3 a day.

The good points:

The rooms are clean, the bed fairly comfortable, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and you can strike up nice conversations with other people staying at the hotel. We found the other people who enjoy staying in a place like this to also be the type of people who are friendly and who want to share thoughts about the area and the events. The price is reasonable and you are just a couple blocks away from the theaters. Overall, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about all the details of the room: shower? bath? sink? closets? toilet? AC? then make up your mi...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkrissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I've stayed at the Columbia 3 times over the past 2 years when attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival - as recently as last weekend. I have only stayed in mid-spring and early fall, so have not experienced a heat wave w/o air conditioning. Inexpensive lovely, charming rooms. Toilet, shower down the hall; sink in the room. Bring a robe + slippers. Comfortable front room/sitting room with complimentary coffee + tea. Great location near the theaters. Easy walking throughout downtown. Need to take stairs entering from either front or back (I've never looked for an elevator). I like this place - will always go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer914914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Over the years, we've stayed in five different Ashland hotels. When my favorite, Ashland Springs Hotel (ASH), was unavailable, I opted to try the Columbia. Booked a small, no-view room with private bath for $159+ tax per night, total was $350 for two nights. While the people staffing the desk are extremely nice and helpful, I can't help comparing the value to ASH. For the same price you can get a very small room at ASH with the following amenities: free breakfast, TV, clock, quality down comforter and pillows, nice sheets, discount at the nearby Waterstone Spa, late night treats, hair dryer in room, phone, bathrobes, climate control in room, comfortable arm chair with reading lamp, closet, packet of bathroom products, night tables with reading lamps on both sides of the bed, ample private parking lot, on-site restaurant, etc. All of these amenities were missing at Columbia. I should note here that this hotel offers less expensive rooms with shared hall bathrooms, which perhaps are good value, but I prefer to compare apples to apples. I found it impossible to sleep past 6:30 a.m. because of the noise created by people moving about the corridor. The location is almost as good as ASH, but at the same price, it fails to deliver the same quality. The pillows are like thin, foam bricks, the only chair in the room was a dining side chair and lacked a lamp so was useless as a reading chair. A room for two people should have night tables and lamps on BOTH sides of the bed. Some of the missing amenities would be easy and inexpensive to add and some would be costly, such as in-room climate control, adequate parking. Failure to adequately furnish inexpensive amenities shows a lack of concern about the guests' experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank califbikegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in October 2013. Didn't have a booking in advance, walked in and was offered a lovely room for a really good rate. Our room didn't have a bathroom in it, given the old nature of the building, but we had a shower and restroom opposite us. Room was nice, comfy, clean. Included a fridge and little kitchen area, as well as a sofa. Free wifi included. Breakfast not included but lots of local places with great food, so not an issue. Parking was full, but normally is included. We had to park on the street, but it was free and not an issue. Staff were very helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Noisy corridors, single toilet and shower for 25 rooms. After check-out time at 11am my wifi access was revoked and the manager suggested me to "piggyback" on the neighbouring businesses's wifi.

This is a family owned hotel indeed. Stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Just stay away from this place.
Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank ethan1el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We loved this place. We arrived, on an off-peak date, with a last minute reservation,and were treated like frequent visitors. We let one of the suites, just off the main parlor, and it was very reasonably priced. We felt quite comfortable, both in the room and on the property. Daniel was working the desk, and was ready with recommendations for everything from a bicycle training route to a dinner spot and a breakfast option. Every suggestion he made was spot on. We will take any opportunity to stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.0 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
826 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 262 East Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1894
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ashland
#7 Family Hotel in Ashland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#8 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range: £81 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing