We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and staff both exceptional!!!!”
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our third trip to Ashland and the Columbia is the finest! The hotel is beautiful, quaint, quiet, comfortable and absolutely lovely. Tea, coffee, flowers, and the most helpful and kind staff made this an absolute delight. We felt like honored guests or family....deeply cared for. I highly recommend the Columbia, whether you are a family or a couple, young or seasoned

Room Tip: Window over Main St. was beautiful. Incredibly comfortable beds and bedding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We could not more highly recommend the Columbia hotel in Ashland,OR. The room was clean, cozy and oh so quiet. No phones, no TV. Wonderful! The hotel ambiance is period elegant, plush and conducive to relaxation, reading and contemplation. The location in central downtown is within walking distance of the theaters,, outstanding shopping and indescribable eateries of every taste and price range. The entire staff was eagerly and enthusiastically accommodating, helpful and knowledgable . We will most assuredly be back to the Columbia Hotel in Ashland!

Room Tip: We specifically requested a room with a bathroom. The shared facilities are, however, just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Columbia Hotel is my first choice of a place to stay in Ashland. I've been going down to the Shakespeare festival for years and have stayed at various spots during that time. Once I found the Columbia, I don't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I like staying in the rooms that face the street. There is a bit more noise, but the views of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have been staying at the Columbia for more than 20 years. It is always a pleasant
and relaxing experience, the rooms are comfortable and quiet, the short distance to the
theaters is very convenient in particular when it is raining. The addition of free WiFi and
tea and coffee during the daytime are great features appreciated by the whole family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfgang k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have stayed here a couple times and I really like it. The staff are all super friendly, the interior is beautiful, the location is ideal and it is even inexpensive to boot. You can't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A "snowbird" friend and I, driving from Portland to Lake Havasu City, AZ, decided to spend our first night in Ashland and I suggested the Columbia, based on previous stays there and location. We were both charmed. We intentionally opted for a bathroom-less room, but recognize that this wouldn't work for everyone and that, as we were there after the Shakespeare season, the waits were nonexistent (which probably would not be the case in the midst of the "season!") Also, from previous stays, I know there is no A/C, which would be a consideration the summer.

The young man working the desk was extremely helpful - making sure we were comfortable, and later making dinner reservations for us at my favourite Ashland dining spot, Thai Pepper. When we accidentally locked ourselves out of the room, he was prompt in letting us back in!

We enjoyed the lounge for reading and computer work - the wi fi was excellent! I appreciate hotels with "character," far more than cookie cutter perfection with en suite accommodations, so will almost certainly return.

.

Room Tip: We were in Room 7, what they call a "double classic." Overlooks the street, but down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmimi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Step back in time - with great wifi connection. Who cares that there is no tv, immerse yourself in a little time travel, or open up your computer! An early December trip to Ashland, found us in the off season, and we were treated to an amazing holiday adventure. Arriving just after sunset, we found the front door in the middle of downtown. It is very discreet, no big hotel front, just a door and awning in the middle of the block. Opening the door was a little like stepping through to "the Lion, the Witch,and the Wardrobe". Of the same era, we opened the door to a cascade of wooden stairs adorned with poinsettias, and crowned by a 100-year plus hotel desk. Luckily, the back of the hotel has parking, and a shorter set of stairs.

We opted for a room with a bathroom, complete with a claw-foot tub. Most of the rooms have a sink, but the commode and shower require a little trip down the hall - you may want to bring your bathrobe. Our room had a comfortable queen size bed, a day bed, a large bathroom, and a beautiful view of the street below and the mountains beyond.(room 6). The lobby was decorated for the holidays, comfortable and a wonderful place to sit, work on your computer, drink tea, visit, snoop through the unoccupied rooms, or read.

The wifi experience is very welcoming and easy to bring up, though if you're not active on it, it times out fairly quickly. Just log back in. It tells you who is at the front desk. Staff at the front desk were marvelous, accomodating and they love working there - imagine that. They knew the area, and were good at suggesting local eateries, gave us directions and were charming.

I am sure that staying there is great any time, but we were there during an unusual snowstorm, and this event marked our trip with an extra kind of magic.

Room Tip: If you are good with shared bathrooms, you can save a peso or two, and enjoy very nice experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rvr2mtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
665 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
Bard's Inn
Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 262 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ashland
#4 Family Hotel in Ashland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#8 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range: £54 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing