We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Sushi Ashland

Star Sushi Ashland
Ranked #84 of 155 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This restaurant has a simple, unassuming, storefront appearance viewed from the sidewalk. Its space,tables,walls are very clean and simple. The prices are very affordable. So all in all,one wouldn't expect a lot from this place. But it delivers very tasty food, and has reasonably good service, all at very affordable, almost fast-food prices. A great restaurant for that simple bite to eat, plus its menu has a wide range of Asian foods.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1MountainArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I ate at Star Sushi last night for diner. The food was wonderful and the service was great. The chef recommended a roll that turned out to be fantastic. I really had a great experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Total miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We like sushi and have been to all types of sushi restaurants, big small, expensive and cheaper. Needless to say you want to have fresh seafood and Star Sushi seems to have that, but what they are in real need of is service. This was our first time to Star Sushi and we though we would try it. Well, we won't be back. While the food was good, the service was totally off. From missed orders, to staff yelling at each other in front of customers, Star Sushi needs to get it's act together and align its service to what seemed like good food. Ashland has many good restaurants of all types and flavors, sadly Star Sushi is near the bottom of my list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrTravelinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent option to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I am generally very picky with my food, but they are so kind and sweet that they even made a dish especially for mow with the things I love the most! Their service is amazing and even if the price might seem a little expensive, it is totally worth it. Quality!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamApple3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
403 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Modestly priced, highest quality food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

You'll find Star Sushi at the east end Downtown Ashland, about a 10 minute walk from the Shakespeare Festival: it is well worth the time to find this delightful and delicious Japanese restaurant.

I always judge a Japanese restaurant based on two things: the Tempura and the Salmon. Star Sushi excelled in both these. We started our lunch with a bowl of miso soup and a mixed house salad. The miso was ordinary, but the salad was an abundant mix of both salad greens and raw vegetables with a nice peanut dressing.

There was a collective "WOW" when the waitress brought our mixed Tempura. This was a mountain of food including 4 shrimp, green beans, zucchini, carrots, and sweet potato all expertly fried in a light and crispy coating. This was among the best that I have tasted in both Japan and America. We also enjoyed our "Sunriver Roll" which had real crab meat roll topped with both avocado and salmon. We deliberately asked to have our roll served without the sweet sauce that American sushi restaurants seem to favor.

The salmon was extremely fresh and beautifully striped with layers of fat. This is the healthy omega 3 fatty acids that everyone talks about and it is delicious. Just skip that sweet sauce so you can actually taste the quality of the fish.

Not many customers for lunch on the day we visited. Too bad, because people are missing a modestly priced and high quality lunch in Ashland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Sushi Ashland also viewed

 

Been to Star Sushi Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing