We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smal Bites with style”

Peerless Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Peerless Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 155 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$35
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between "A" & "B" Street
Description: Located in the heart of Ashland's Historic Railroad & Gallery District, The Peerless is a lively sophisticated neighborhood restaurant & bar (located next to our historic six-room luxury inn "The Peerless Hotel") . The Peerless can be experienced in our relaxing dining room, friendly & intimate bar (Happy Hour from 5-6:00 Tues-Sat)or alfresco in our enchanting gardens. Our dinner menu features an array of small plates, as well as steaks, seafood and vegetarian entrees that capture the favors of the seasons and essence of the Pacific Northwest. Our extensive wine list showcases the best of Southern Oregon, the Willamette Valley, Washington and California as well as selections from classic old world wine regions. The Peerless approach to dining offers you a wonderful opportunity to celebrate fine wines, delectable food and good conversation in a warm and relaxing atmosphere.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smal Bites with style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This restautant is on a side street in Ashland so it it is easy to park. It has a warm and welcoming bar area where small bites are served as well as a dining room with a fireplace. The small bites are quite varied and easily make a meal. Like old time chinese restaurants you can share plates. Options change and prices vary.You might get special meatballs, a generous amount , a garnet sweet potato or go for a filet minon mini meal. There is a happy hour and a good selection of bar drinks , cocktails and wines.A nice place with visit before a play or a quick get together with friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steviejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    48
    26
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good small plates, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

A nice atmosphere - lively but not too noisy. There's a decent wine list, and we liked the option of small plates. Calamari was delicious; halibut tacos were just okay; lamb was lovely, though heavily sauced. We were there on a busy night, but even so the service seemed slow. We arrived at 6 and weren't done until 7:40, just enough time to get to the theatre (a ten minute walk). Prices were reasonable, but the food was not that memorable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelguy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Back to high standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

For several years this was our favorite upscale Ashland restaurant. Two (?) years ago they changed chefs, started a small plate menu, and offered uneven and unpredictable quality. We tried it this week and it is as good as ever, maybe better. The setting is casual elegance. The front room is the most appealing with fireplace and window on a pleasant Ashland neighborhood. However, sitting in the back is preferable if you want to have a quiet conversation. Service is very prompt, and the server is very knowledgeable. The small bar is inviting, and the wine list impressive. (On Wednesdays there is no corkage.)
Soups are excellent. The halibut served on angel hair pasta is superb. I seldom order pork chops as they so easily overcook, but this chef knows how to do medium rare so that it is still moist.
During the summer there is outdoor dining on the lawn, and tat as always been pleasant. However, as the nights grow chilly, the atmosphere inside is a perfect Northwest setting, cozy, comfortable, yet very fine service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I attend the Shakespeare Festival with my folks each year and we love to try a new restaurant at least one of the 3-4 nights we're in town. While Peerless has been around for awhile, last Saturday night was our first visit. My folks are "foodies" from the Bay Area and my boyfriend and I are from Portland. All four of us agreed this was one of the finest meals we've had in Ashland --or anywhere. From the lightly-fried calamari (with two unique dipping sauces, one asian, one aioli-like but with a twist) and fresh crab-stuffed artichoke stem appetizers, to my Mom's perfectly-seared giant sea scallops (delicately infused with a hint of lemon) to my boyfriend's extremely generous portion of sliding-off-the-bone baby back ribs (we shared the leftovers at breakfast and they were YUM), to Dad's breast of duck -- everything was first-rate. Our waiter, who has worked at both L'Auberge du Soleil and the French Laundry, was well-informed about the menu and brought just the right touch of helpful without being intrusive. Yes, the restaurant is on the upper end of the price scale, but we felt it was deserved. If you're on somewhat of a budget, the small plates (which included my chicken marsala) give fair portions of delicious food. We did not have dessert, but we will definitely be back next year to try it again, dessert included!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small plates - Great. Bring it on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Pre-theatre diner with friends.
Starters and small plates. All excellent.
Pricey yes but good quality ingredients and well cooked. Never a problem.
Would return here any day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peerless Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Peerless Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing