We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, service, and atmosphere.”

Alchemy Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Alchemy Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$39
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hargadine St
Description: Sept 1st, 2015 - Just named one of the Top 100 Restaurants for Foodies by OpenTable. We are a small fine dining restaurant that strives to use local ingredients to transmute our food, cocktails and dining experience into memorable evenings. We feature an award winning wine list with Certified Sommelier on staff to help, and inventive craft cocktails to wow the palate.
Sherwood, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, service, and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was the best meal we had on our week long stay in Ashland. Excellent ambiance, service, cocktails, and most of all, food. Our meals were all cooked to perfection and very enjoyable. This would be a 5 star review, except the prices are a little inflated. Portion sizes are small, which is fine, but out of balance with the cost.

That being said, I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a special evening of dining!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thank you for writing! It is always wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are always trying to improve, and the Chef and myself will discuss our pricing and portion sizes. The plates are all priced according to our cost, and we never want anyone feeling slighted or hungry. I hope that you have the chance to join us in the future and see what improvements we can make.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    57
    25
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine list and superb cuisine”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We dined there on our first night before the Oregon Shakespeare Festival on quail, stuffed with sausage for me and potato and sweet red pepper bisque, with Dungeness crab salad for my husband. He chose a lovely local Willamette Valley 2011 pinot noir from the Penner Ash winery.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lanxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thank you for joining us! I hope you have the chance to do so again!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another nice surprise in Ashland”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We couldn't stay in the Winchester Hotel where the Alchemy is located because we were traveling with pets. However, we enjoyed pre-Shakespeare Festival drinks and light dinner at the Bar. The foie gras is superb. Service was friendly (especially the Irish mixologist). Liked it so well we went back the next night for a three course dinner. We might as well have been in France. It was magnifique.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed dining with us so much you came back the next night! Everyone greatly appreciates your kind words. It is true that we are not yet pet friendly, but we hope to be able to offer something soon.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, Calif
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fine food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Gibbs and The Winchester Inn make a special effort to keep the quality and variety of the cuisine at a high level. We have eaten at many other Ashland Restaurants, and since we stay at The Winchester sometimes we had "forgotten" how good, and convenient it is to eat here.

Breakfast is provided to guests and it is always special. Dinner can be large or small. And the attention to detail, freshness, proper service and presentation is welcomed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thank you for the kind words! I'm glad to hear that the biggest problem is that we feed you well at breakfast! We hope to see you again next year!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Top quality”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We ate dinner at Alchemy twice during our recent trip to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The menu is interesting and has a good variety of both starters and main courses. The wine menu is extensive and has an excellent selection of Oregon pinot noir. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the wines and made some great recommendations about what would go with our choice of food. Unlike some restaurants we have visited, the recommendations were not even close to the most expensive wines on the menu which was refreshing! Our favorite starter was the crab salad. The stuffed quail was very tasty and the pasta dish I chose on the first visit was excellent. The chef does a great job with fish, too.
Alchemy is on the pricey side but we think it is the best restaurant in Ashland right now based on the quality of the food, the wine list, the service and the ambience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thank you so much for joining us. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience. The staff takes great pride in finding wonderful values on the wine list and the Chef is always trying to top himself. I hope you have a chance to visit again soon.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alchemy Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing